Fall Semester 2009

August 17, Monday – August 21, Friday
Registration/Schedule Adjustment

August 21, Friday, 9 a.m.
Residence Halls Open for Freshmen

August 22, Saturday, 9 a.m.
Residence Halls Open for Upperclassmen

August 24, Monday, 8 a.m.
First Day of Classes

August 24, Monday — August 28, Friday
Late Registration and Add/Drop (Schedule Adjustment)

August 28, Friday
Last Day to Add Classes (Withdrawals Only After This Date)

August 31, Monday 
“W” Withdrawal Period Begins

September 5, Saturday — September 7, Monday
University Computer Services Unavailable

September 7, Monday 
Labor Day Holiday — University Closed

September 18, Friday 
Application for December Graduation Due in Academic Dean’s Office

September 25, Friday
Last Day to Drop 1st 8 Weeks Courses

October 5, Monday
Final Draft of Thesis Due in Advisor’s Office

October 13, Tuesday  
Mid-Semester, 1st 8 Weeks Courses End

October 14, Wednesday
2nd 8 Weeks Courses Begin

October 19, Monday, Noon 
Deadline for Submitting Freshmen Mid Term Grades

October 26, Monday
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance registration (Required for students who have mandatory advising holds)

October 30, Friday
Last Day to Drop a Full Semester Individual Course

November 2, Monday 
Recommended Date to Apply for May 2010 Graduation

November 2, Monday — December 8, Tuesday 
Complete Withdrawals Only

November 9, Monday — November 20, Friday 
Advance Registration for Spring Semester for Currently Enrolled Students

November 13, Friday 
Last Day to Drop 2nd 8 Weeks Courses

November 20, Friday  
Last Day for Defense of Dissertation

November 21, Saturday, Noon 
Residence Halls Close

November 23, Monday — December 22, Tuesday  
Advance Registration for Spring Semester Open to All    Admitted/Re-Admitted Students

November 23, Monday – November 28, Saturday
Thanksgiving/Fall Break – Classes Dismissed

November 26, Thursday — November 29, Sunday  
University Computer Services Unavailable

November 26, Thursday 
Thanksgiving Holiday — University Closed

November 27, Friday  
University Holiday — University Closed

November 29, Sunday, Noon 
Residence Halls Open

November 30, Monday
Classes Resume

December 2, Wednesday — December 8, Tuesday  
“Dead Week”

December 4, Friday 
Last Possible Date for Thesis/Dissertation Defense

December 5, Saturday 
Commencement for December Graduation

December 8, Tuesday
Last Class Day and Last Day to Completely Withdraw for Fall Semester

December 9, Wednesday  
Study Day — Exams for Wednesday Classes 3 p.m. and After Will Be Held

December 10, Thursday
Exam Day

December 10, Thursday 
Approved Thesis/Dissertation Must Be Submitted Electronically and all Paperwork/Checks Must Be In Graduate College Office

December 11, Friday
Exam Day

December 12, Saturday
Exam Day for Saturday Classes (and some common finals)

December 14, Monday
Exam Day

December 15, Tuesday
Exam Day — Fall Semester Closes — Official Graduation Date For Fall Semester

December 16, Wednesday, Noon 
Residence Halls Close

December 17, Thursday, Noon
Deadline for Submitting Final Set of Grades

December 23, Wednesday – December 27, Sunday
Advance Registration/Schedule Adjustment for Spring  Semester is Suspended

December 23, Wednesday – January 1, 2010, Friday
University Closed

December 28, Monday – December 30, Wednesday
Student Service Offices Open 10:00 a.m. — 4:00 p.m. (Admissions, Advising at Registrar Office only, Bursar, Financial Aid, Registrar)