BMS Program celebrates Eighth Annual Biomedical Sciences Research Retreat

Sarah Mathis, Ph.D. candidateOn August 24, the Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program hosted is ninth annual research retreat. Every year, faculty, staff, and research students in the program gather to share their research, enjoy a speech by an alumni guest, and present awards for research and service. The event, which was organized by Dr. Beverly Delidow, and took place at the Pullman Plaza Hotel. According to Diana R. Maue, Graduate Recruitment Coordinator for the program, “Every year at this event, we celebrate the Marshall Biomedical Sciences family and biomedical research itself.”

The event kicked off with a luncheon and poster session. This portion of the retreat gives everyone a chance to socialize and catch up on research developments in the program. After the poster session, a member of each research cluster gave a short speech. The alumni guest speaker then presented.

Nathan Head, Ph.D.The alumni guest speaker this year was Nathan Head, Ph.D. Dr. Head currently serves as a Supervisory Special Agent for the FBI Weapons of Mass Destruction Directorate (WMDD). This agency was created in 2006 to coordinate federal resources with the goal of preventing attacks involving radiological, nuclear, chemical, or biological weapons. His talk was entitled: “The Road Not Taken: Leaving Academia to Explore an Alternative Career in the Sciences.” His experiences give a stunning example of the possibilities that await for graduates of our program.

The alumni speaker was followed by the awards presentation. The following awards were presented at the retreat:
dsc_0170M. Allison Wolf, President of the BMS Graduate Student Organization (GSO), won the award for Best Overall Performance as a Graduate Student plaque. The award includes a plaque and paid trip to an international meeting (up to $3500). Allison is a Ph.D. Candidate working in Dr. Claudio’s lab.



dsc_0169Johannes Fahrmann, Vice President of the BMS GSO, received the award for Best Research Performance as a Graduate Student. Johannes received a plaque and paid trip to a national meeting (up to $2,000). He is a Ph.D. Candidate in Dr. Hardman’s lab.





Saeed Keshavarzian and Richard Niles, Ph.D.

Saeed Keshavarzian was honored for being the Medical Sciences student with the highest first year g.p.a.





Stephanie Van Meter and Richard Niles, Ph.D.Stephanie Van Meter was awarded for being the Ph.D. student with the highest first year g.p.a.





M. Allison Wolf and Stephen RogersSteven Rogers, who is now a Ph.D. student in Dr. Blough’s lab, won the new GSO M.S. Student Scholarship.




dsc_0153_0Miranda Carper, a Ph.D. Candidate in Dr. Claudio’s lab, won the new GSO Ph.D. Student Scholarship.





M. Allison Wolf and Margaret McFarlandMargaret McFarland and Connie Berk tied for the GSO Staff Appreciation Award.






Dr. Richard Egleton won the GSO Faculty Appreciation Award.





Congratulations to the award winners, and thank you to the participants. We look forward to seeing everyone at the next gathering.