Marshall University Board of Governors Special Board Meeting October 19, 2015 Shawkey Dining Room

Present: Michael G. Sellards, Chair; Phyllis Arnold; James Bailes (by phone); Philip E. Cline; Oshel Craigo; Tim Dagostine; David E. Haden; Edward Howard; Christie Kinsey; Dale C. Lowther; Joseph McDonie; Wyatt Scaggs; Dr. Joseph B. Touma; Dr. Cam Brammer; Duncan Waugaman; Miriah Young;

I. Call to Order

Upon determining a quorum was present, Chairman Sellards called the meeting to order.

II. Executive Session under the authority of WV Code §6-9A-4

Upon a motion by Mr. Haden, seconded by Mr. McDonie, the Board entered Executive Session to approve the selection of the Presidential Candidate.

The Board returned to open session upon a motion by Mr. Scaggs, seconded by Mr. Waugaman.

Upon a motion by Mr. Lowther, seconded by Mr. Scaggs, and the Board unanimously adopted the following resolution:

Resolved, that the Marshall University Board of Governors approves the candidate indicated in executive session as the next president of Marshall University subject to the negotiation and execution of an appropriate contract and acquiescence of the Higher Education Policy Commission.

III. Adjournment

There being no other business to be brought to the Board of Governors, upon a motion by Mr. Waugaman, seconded by Mrs. Young, the meeting adjourned.