First Semester 2010-2011

Subscribe to ICS | Download Calendar

August 16, Monday -- August 20, Friday
Registration/Schedule Adjustment


August 18
Residence Halls Open for First Year Students


August 19
Marshall Week of Welcome and UNI 100 Begin


August 21, Saturday, 9 a.m.
Residence Halls Open for Upperclassmen


August 23, Monday, 8 a.m.
First Day of Classes


August 23, Monday -- August 27, Friday
Late Registration and Add/Drop (Schedule Adjustment)


August 27, Friday
Last Day to Add Classes (Withdrawals Only After This Date)


August 30, Monday
Withdrawal Period Begins


September 4, Saturday -- September 6, Monday
University Computer Services Unavailable


September 6, Monday
Labor Day Holiday -- University Closed


September 17, Friday
Application for December Graduation Due in Academic Dean’s Office


September 24, Friday
Last Day to Drop 1st 8 Weeks Courses


October 4, Monday
Final Draft of Thesis Due in Advisor’s Office


October 12, Tuesday
Mid-Semester, 1st 8 Weeks Courses End


October 13, Wednesday
2nd 8 Weeks Courses Begin


October 18, Monday, Noon
Deadline for Submitting Freshmen Mid Term Grades


October 25, Monday
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance registration

(Required for students who have mandatory advising holds)


October 29, Friday
Last Day to Drop a Full Semester Individual Course


November 1, Monday
Recommended Date to Apply for May 2011 Graduation


November 1, Monday - December 7, Tuesday
Complete Withdrawals Only


November 8, Monday - November 19, Friday
Advance Registration for Spring Semester for Currently Enrolled Students


November 12, Friday
Last Day to Drop 2nd 8 Weeks Courses


November 19, Friday
Last Day for Defense of Dissertation


November 20, Saturday, Noon
Residence Halls Close


November 22, Monday - December 22, Tuesday
Advance Registration for Spring Semester Open to All    Admitted/Re-Admitted Students


November 22, Monday - November 27, Saturday
Thanksgiving/Fall Break - Classes Dismissed


November 25, Thursday -- November 28, Sunday
University Computer Services Unavailable


November 25, Thursday
Thanksgiving Holiday -- University Closed


November 26, Friday
University Holiday -- University Closed


November 28, Sunday, Noon
Residence Halls Open


November 29, Monday
Classes Resume


December 1, Wednesday -- December 7, Tuesday
Dead Week


December 3, Friday
Last Possible Date for Thesis/Dissertation Defense


December 5, Sunday
Commencement for December Graduation


December 7, Tuesday
Last Class Day and Last Day to Completely Withdraw for Fall Semester


December 8, Wednesday
Study Day -- Exams for Wednesday Classes 3 p.m. and After Will Be Held


December 9, Thursday
Exam Day


December 9, Thursday
Approved Thesis/Dissertation Must Be Submitted Electronically

(All Paperwork/Checks Must Be In Graduate College Office)


December 10, Friday
Exam Day


December 11, Saturday
Exam Day for Saturday Classes (and some common finals)


December 13, Monday
Exam Day


December 14, Tuesday Exam Day -- Fall Semester Closes

Official Graduation Date For Fall Semester


December 15, Wednesday, Noon
Residence Halls Close


December 16, Thursday, Noon
Deadline for Submitting Final Set of Grades


December 23, Thursday - December 26, Sunday
Advance Registration/Schedule Adjustment for Spring

Semester is Suspended


December 23, Thursday - December 31, 2010, Friday
University Closed


December 27, Monday - December 29, Wednesday
Student Service Offices Open 10:00 a.m. -- 4:00 p.m.

(Admissions, Advising at Student Resource Center only, Bursar, Financial Aid, Registrar)