First Semester 2011-2012

Subscribe to ICS | Download Calendar

August 15, Monday -- August 19, Friday
Registration/Schedule Adjustment

August 17, Wednesday, 9 a.m.
Residence Halls Open for Freshmen

August 17, Wednesday - August 19, Friday
Week of Welcome for Incoming Freshmen

August 20, Saturday, 9 a.m.
Residence Halls Open for Upperclassmen

August 22, Monday, 8 a.m.
First Day of Classes

August 22, Monday -- August 26, Friday
Late Registration and Schedule Adjustment (Add/Drop)

August 26, Friday
Last Day to Add Classes (Withdrawals Only After This Date)

August 29, Monday
'W' Withdrawal Period Begins

September 3, Saturday -- September 5, Monday
University Computer Services Unavailable

September 5, Monday
Labor Day Holiday - University Closed

September 16, Friday
Application for December Graduation Due in Academic Dean’s Office

September 23, Friday
Last Day to Drop 1st 8 Weeks Courses

October 3, Monday
Graduate Students: Final Draft of Thesis/Dissertation Due in Advisor’s Office

October 11, Tuesday
Mid-Semester, 1st 8 Weeks Courses End

October 12, Wednesday
2nd 8 Weeks Courses Begin

October 17, Monday, Noon
Deadline for Submitting Freshmen Mid Term Grades

October 24, Monday
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance registration

(Required for students who have mandatory advising holds)

October 28, Friday
Last Day to Drop a Full Semester Individual Course

October 31, Monday
Recommended Date to Apply for May 2012 Graduation

October 31, Monday - December 6, Tuesday
Complete Withdrawals Only

November 7, Monday - November 18, Friday
Advance Registration for Spring Semester for Currently Enrolled Students

November 11, Friday
Last Day to Drop 2nd 8 Weeks Courses

November 19, Saturday, Noon
Residence Halls Close
(Freshmen residence halls remain open during break)

November 21, Monday - November 26, Saturday
Thanksgiving/Fall Break - Classes Dismissed

November 21, Monday - December 22, Thursday
Advance Registration for Spring Semester Open to All    Admitted/Re-Admitted Students

November 24, Thursday -- November 27, Sunday
University Computer Services Unavailable

November 24, Thursday
Thanksgiving Holiday -- University Closed

November 25, Friday
University Holiday -- University Closed

November 27, Sunday, 9 a.m.
Residence Halls Open

November 28, Monday
Classes Resume

November 30, Wednesday -- December 6, Tuesday
"Dead Week"

December 6, Tuesday
Last Class Day and Last Day to Completely Withdraw for Fall Semester

December 7, Wednesday
Study Day -- Exams for Wednesday Classes 3 p.m. and After Will Be Held

December 8, Thursday
Exam Day

December 8, Thursday
Graduate Students: Approved ETD Must Be Uploaded to ProQuest

December 9, Friday
Exam Day

December 10, Saturday
Exam Day for Saturday Classes (and some common finals)

December 10, Saturday
Winter Commencement 10:00 a.m.

December 12, Monday
Exam Day

December 13, Tuesday Exam Day - Fall Semester Closes

Official Graduation Date

December 14, Wednesday, Noon
Residence Halls Close
(Freshmen residence halls remain open during break)

December 15, Thursday, Noon
Deadline for Submitting Final Set of Grades

December 23, Friday - December 27, Tuesday
Advance Registration/Schedule Adjustment for Spring

Semester is Suspended

December 23, Friday - January 2, 2012, Monday
University Closed

December 28, Wednesday - December 30, Friday
Student Service Offices Open 10:00 a.m. -- 4:00 p.m.

(Admissions, Advising, Bursar, Financial Aid, Student Resource Center, Registrar)