The Appalachian Coalition for Geological Hazards in Transportation

Committee Members

Tony Szwilski, Chair

Professor and Director,

Center for Environmental, Geotechnical and Applied Sciences (CEGAS)

Marshall University

Address: Gullickson Hall 112, 18th St, 3rd Av.,

            Huntington, WV 25755

Phone:  (304) 696-5457; Fax: (304) 696-5454

Email:   szwilski@marshall.edu

Kirk Beach, Co-Chair

Geology Program Manager

Office of Geotechnical Engineering

Ohio Department of Transportation

Address: 1600 West Broad Street, Room

            Columbus, OH 43223

Phone: (614) 275-1342; Fax: (614) 887-4087

Email: kirk.beach@dot.state.oh.us

Vanessa Bateman

Email: vanessa.c.bateman@usace.army.mil

 

Hugh Bevans

District Chief

U.S. Geological Survey

11 Dunbar Street, Charleston, West Virginia 25301

Phone: (304) 347-5130 ext. 23

Fax: (304) 347-5133

email: hbevans@usgs.gov

 

Steve Brewster

Chief, Geology Section

US Army Corps of Engineering

Huntington District

Address: 502 8th St.

             Huntington, WV 25701

Phone: (304)529-5279

Email: steve.brewster@usace.army.mil

 

Brian Bruckno

Enineering Geologis

Virginia Department of Transportation      

P.O. Box 2249, Staunton, VA 24402-2249

Phone: 540-332-9166

email:  Brian.Bruckno@vdot.virginia.gov

 

Joe D. Carte

West Virginia Department of Transportation      

Division of Highways Engineering Division

Address: Building 5,

            1900 Kanawha Blvd., E.,

            Charleston, WV 25305-0430

Phone: (304) 558-2885; Fax (304) 558-7297

email:  Joe.D.Carte@wv.gov

 

Matt Crawford

Kentucky Geologic Survey

Address: 228 Mining and Minerals Resources Building

            University of Kentucky

            Lexington, KY 40506-1147

Phone: (859) 323-0510

Email: mcrawford@uky.edu

 

Scott Eaton

Associate Professor

Department of Geology and Environmental Science

James Madison University

Harrisonburg, Virginia 22807

Phone: (504) 568-3339

email: eatonls@jmu.edu

 

Jim Faircloth

Sr. Project Engineer

CSX Transportation

Address: 500 Water Street - J350,

            Jacksonville, FL 32256

Phone: (904) 245-1042

Email: james_faircloth@csx.com

 

John D. Kiefer

Assistant State Geologist (retired)

Kentucky Geological Survey

Email: mndkiefer2@yahoo.com

 

Jody C. Kuhne

North Carolina Department of Transportation
Ashville Area Office
Address: P.O. Box 3279
            Ashville, NC 28802

Phone: (828) 298-3228

Email: jkuhne@dot.state.nc.us

 

Jane McColloch

Senior Geologist

West Virginia Geologica Survey

Address: P.O. Box 879

            Morgantown, WV 26507-0879

Phone: (304) 594-2331 Ext. 425; Fax: (304) 594-2575

Email: janemc@geosrv.wvnet.edu

 

Kerry W. Petrasic

Chief Geotechnical Engineer

PA Department of Transportaion

Address: 1118 State Street, Harrisburg, PA 17103

Phone: (717) 787-4319; Fax: (717) 705-5750

Email: kpetrasic@state.pa.us

 

Benjamin Rivers

Geotechnical Engineer

FHWA - Resource Center

Address: 61 Forsyth Street, Suite 17T26
             Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Phone: (404) 562-3926; Fax: (404) 562-3700

Email: benjamin.rivers@dot.gov

 

Thomas Smith

Division Administrator

FHWA, West Virginia Division

Address: Geary Plaza Suite 200, 700 Washington St. East

            Charleston, WV 25301

Phone: (304) 347-5928; Fax: (304) 347-5103

Email: thomas.smith@fhwa.dot.gov

 

John R. Tomlin

Norfolk Southern Railway Company

Phone: (404) 529-1306

Email: John.Tomlin@nscrp.com

 

Wael Zatar

Associate Professor

College of Information Technology and Engineering

Address: 112 Gullickson Hall, One John Marshall Drive Marshall University

            Huntington, WV 25755-2586

Phone: (304) 696-6043; Fax: (304) 696-5454

Email: zatar@marshall.edu