The Appalachian Coalition for Geological Hazards in Transportation

Committee Members

Tony Szwilski, Chair

Professor and Director,

Center for Environmental, Geotechnical and Applied Sciences (CEGAS)

Marshall University

Address: Gullickson Hall 112, 18th St, 3rd Av.,

            Huntington, WV 25755

Phone:  (304) 696-5457; Fax: (304) 696-6324

Email:   szwilski(at)

Brian Bruckno, Vice Chair
Engineering Geologist
Virginia Department of Transportation      

P.O. Box 2249
Staunton, VA 24402-2249

Phone: 540-332-9166
Email:  Brian.Bruckno(at)


Kirk Beach
Assistant National Manager

8901 Carpenter Freeway, Suite 100
Dallas, TX 75247

Phone: (214) 666-4629
Email: kirk.beach(at)


Ann Beaver
Transportation Project Specialist
State of Tennessee, Department of Transportation
Materials & Tests Division, Geotechnical Engineering Section

7345 Region Lane
Knoxville, TN 37914

Phone: (865) 594-2706
Email: ann.beaver(at)


Joe D. Carte
West Virginia Department of Transportation
Division of Highways Engineering Division

Building 5,
1900 Kanawha Boulevard E
Charleston, WV 25305-0430

Phone: (304) 558-2885
Email: Joe.D.Carte(at)


Sean Carter

Chief of Geotechnical and Water Resources Engineering
US Army Corps of Engineering
Huntington District


Ross Cutts
Engineering Geology Field Manager
Maryland State Highway Administration

Email: RCutts(at)


Eric Dougherty, Chief
Engineering Geology Division
Maryland State Highway Administration
Office of Materials Technology

Phone: 443-572-5171
Email: EDougherty(at)


Alan Johnson
Project Manager
Norfolk Southern

Email: alan.johnson(at)


Benjamin Rivers
Geotechnical Engineer
FHWA - Resource Center

61 Forsyth Street, Suite 17T26
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Phone: (404) 562-3926
Email: benjamin.rivers(at)