Thursday, April 7, 2011
All events take place at the Memorial Student Center, Room BE5, unless otherwise indicated.

Program is subject to change. All updates will be posted here.

Speaker Bios/Conference Chairs

8:30 a.m. Registration
9:30 a.m. Opening Address     (Watch the video)
   Dr. Stephen J. Kopp
   President, Marshall University
9:45 a.m. Remarks     (Watch the video)
   Dr. Paul L. Hill
   Vice Chancellor for Science and Research
   West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
10 a.m. Keynote Address – The Future of the Internet”     (Watch the video)
   F. Selby Wellman, MU ’63
   Former Senior Vice President, Cisco Systems Inc.
10:45 a.m. Break
11 a.m. “Cyberinfrastructure Today at Marshall University”     (Watch the video)
   Dr. Jan I. Fox
   Senior Vice President for Information Technology/Chief Information Officer
   Marshall University
11:25 a.m. “Cyberinfrastructure and Research”     (Watch the video)
   Dr. John M. Maher
   Vice President for Research/Executive Director of Marshall University Research Corp.
   Marshall University
11:50 a.m. Lunch (provided)
1 p.m. Faculty Presentations
1 p.m. “Whole Genome DNA Sequencing”     (Watch the video)
   Dr. Joan E. Wilson
   Marshall Institute for Interdisciplinary Research
1:30 p.m. “From Confocal Microscopy to Molecular Imagineering”    
   Dr. Michael L. Norton
   Department of Chemistry, Marshall University
2 p.m. “Motion Capture/Gait Analysis”     (Watch the video)
  Dr. Matthew Comeau
   School of Kinesiology, Marshall University
   Dr. Felix Cheung
   School of Medicine, Marshall University
2:30 p.m. Break
2:45 p.m. Faculty Presentations, continued
2:45 p.m. “Black Holes Simulation and Visualization”     (Watch the video)
   Dr. Maria C. Babiuc-Hamilton
   Department of Physics, Marshall University
3:15 p.m. “Acoustic Phonon Generation”     (Watch the video)
   Dr. Thomas E. Wilson
   Department of Physics, Marshall University
3:45 p.m. “Molecular Dynamics Simulations and the Importance of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure Resources”     (Watch the video)
   Dr. Douglas E. Spearot
   Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Arkansas
4:30 p.m. Adjournment
5-6:30 p.m. Reception/Demonstrations/Student Awards*
   (Location:  Arthur Weisberg Family Engineering Laboratories, 1628 3rd Ave.)

*Must be present to win.