

FACULTY & STAFF NEWSLETTER

Publication of Information & Recognition

Recognition Committee

Dr. Sherry Early Leadership Studies

Dr. Jessi Hanna Adult & Continuing Education

Dr. Brian Kinghorn *Curriculum, Instruction, & Foundations*

Dr. Isaac Larison Literacy Education

Dr. Jonathan Lent Counseling

Dr. Jennifer McFarland-Whisman *Special Education*

MESSAGE FROM THE RECOGNITION COMMITTEE

Welcome to the Fall 2018/Spring 2019 edition of the COEPD Faculty & Staff Newsletter! The main purpose of this publication is to highlight and recognize achievements and outstanding contributions made by the COEPD faculty and staff.

In order to facilitate the reporting of these accomplishments, the Recognition Committee has developed an online nomination form, which can be accessed at <u>http://www.marshall.edu/coepd/recognize</u>

If you or someone you know deserves recognition for his or her work, we encourage you to use the nomination form. Nominations will be reviewed and may be highlighted via the COEPD website, this newsletter, and/or the We Are...Marshall Newsletter.

"The difference between ordinary is that little extra." --Jimmy Johnson

Staff Spotlight: Paula Kaplan

Paula Kaplan has been an amazing resource to faculty on both campuses. Her cheerful disposition, attention to detail, and expertise will make her missed dearly as she embarks on her next adventure in Indiana. Paula has served as a resource for TUG presentations, Blackboard issues, QM questions, course reviews, design questions and more. She has been such an integral part of our successes and will be missed.

Faculty Spotlight: Tina Cartwright

Tina Cartwright, Ph.D., a Professor in the Curriculum Instructions Foundations Program, was recently awarded the Hedrick Teaching Fellowship from the Center for Teaching & Learning. Dr. Cartwright has been the Principal Investigator of several NSF science education programs that total over \$2M and has received prior recognition of excellence from Marshall University including the Sarah Denman Faces of Appalachia Fellowship and the Pickens-Queen Teacher Award.

Dr. Cartwright's Hedrick Teaching Fellowship will be called "Mindfulness on metacognition: Teaching students how to think and learn" and will focus on improving students' ability to analyze their approach to thinking, learning, challenges and failure. The faculty learning community will utilize resources from Carol Dweck's *The New Psychology of Success* and Saundra McGuire's *Teach Students How to Learn*.

Faculty/Staff Achievements

Dr. Sherry Early

Leadership Studies

Taught two leadership courses to 14 undergraduate students in Costa Rica summer 2018. Blog on the experience can be found at <u>https://www.naspa.org/constituent-</u> groups/posts/pura-vida-reflections-from-aneducation-abroad-faculty-experience

Began serving as an academic coach and editor for Heartful Editor. See <u>http://www.heartfuleditor.com</u> for more information.

Has been contracted to write a book chapter. The chapter introduces the values, philosophy, and history of moral development for decision making and the heritage of student affairs in higher education.

Co-presenting "Where is the line between hate speech and free speech?" roundtable at the Southern Association for Counseling Education and Supervision Conference, Myrtle Beach, SC.

Co-presented a TUG presentation on Engaging Students in Online and Face-to-Face Learning Environments with Dr. Jessi Hanna.

Invited presenter for the West Virginia Student

Personnel Association for Emerging Leader's Institute in November 2018.

Chairperson of the Faculty Learning Community on Creating Inclusive Environments While Increasing Our Capacity for Diversity, which launched in September 2018.

Dr. Jessica Hanna

Adult & Continuing Education

Designed and taught two technology courses for Kids in College 2018 at Ohio University Lancaster.

Became a certified ESL Tutor through the Fairfield County Literacy Council and is working with them on a project to assess the perceptions of the Literacy Council's mission.

Co-presented a TUG presentation on Engaging Students in Online and Face-to-Face Learning Environments with Dr. Sherry Early.

Dr. Debra Lockwood

Special Education

Accompanied six undergraduate students (Megan Posey, Megan Dilorenzo, Shelby Bellomy, Amanda Young, Kristen Lyrio-Takis, and Samantha Nugen) to the West Virginia State Conference for Exceptional Children on October 4-5, 2018 at Daniels, WV. They presented about their participation in the annual Marshall University Undergraduate Sharing Day 2018.

Amanda Young, a special education undergraduate major, was nominated as the student representative for the state special education chapter.

Dr. Jennifer McFarland-Whisman

Special Education

Drs. McFarland-Wisman, Lockwood, and Dunham provided three presentations at the Teacher Education Division of the Council for Exceptional Children in November 2018 at Las Vegas. Dr. McFarland-Wisman's presentation was entitled, "Engaged and Learning or Checked Out?"

Facilitated the implementation of an intensive training program for WV Birth to Three providers, which was held at Marshall University on August 6-9, 2018. The training focused on the Early State Denver Model, an evidence-based practice for supporting families and their toddlers with autism spectrum disorder.

Hedrick Program Grant Award for Teaching Innovation (Team)

Dr. Tracy Christofero

CITE – Technology Management

Dr. Lori Howard Special Education

Dr. Ralph McKinney

College of Business

Professor Brian Morgan

COS – Integrated Science & Technology

MU ACCESS (Accessibility Curricula Collaboration fostering Employable Student Skills) is an interdisciplinary project to help Marshall students obtain knowledge and skills related to providing technology accessibility for all people, including those with disabilities, to become more employable. To address the need for knowledge of disability and accessibility, and obtain the skills required to fulfill employment needs in the industry, the MU ACCESS project consists of four faculty members from four different colleges who are committed to incorporating the teaching of accessibility to both undergraduate and graduate students. This interdisciplinary faculty collaboration seeks to increase student knowledge and provide learning experiences designed to foster innovation and creative problem-solving with disability perspectives in curriculum and instruction within computer information technology, integrating science and technology, web application development, business and human resources, and technology management. The faculty involved will use a project-based learning approach with SMART Device lab kits and the real-world lab of a SMART Dorm room. These approaches and the Teach Access consortium accessibility curriculum should encourage and excite Marshall students in these classes about the potential opportunities for creative and innovative problem-solving.

IMPORTANT DATES

Summer | 2019

• May 20	First Day of Classes
• May 22	Last day to add a class
• May 27	Memorial Day (University Closed)
• July 4	Independence Day (University Closed)
• July 5	Last day to drop an individual Summer I course
• July 12	Graduation Application for August Due
• July 12	Final draft of thesis/dissertation due to committee chair
• August 8	Last class day
• August 8	Approved thesis/dissertation must be submitted to the EDT website
• August 9	Final Examination Day
• August 12	Deadline for submitting Summer I final grades
**Other important dates and dates relevant to Summer II, Summer III, and Intercession are available at	

http://www.marshall.edu/academic-calendar.**

