Degrees and Minors

Department Major | Areas of Concentration Chair
Classical Language Latin: B.A., M.A. Dr. E. Del Chrol
304.696.4323
Chrol@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 408
Classics Humanities: B.A. Dr. E. Del Chrol
304.696.4323
Chrol@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 408
Communication Studies Communication Studies: B.A., M.A.

  • Health Communication
  • Interpersonal Communication
  • Organizational Communication
  • Public Communication
Dr. Cam Brammer
304.696.2810
brammer@marshall.edu
Office: Smith Hall 248
Economics — Economics is a joint program offered by the College of Business and the College of Liberal Arts. Economics, B.A. Dr. Harlan Smith
304.696.3233
smithh@marshall.edu
Office: Corbly Hall 266
English English, B.A.

  • Creative Writing
  • Literary Studies
  • Education (English Education is a joint program offered by the College of Education and the College of Liberal Arts.)

English, M.A.

  • Literature Emphasis
  • TESOL Emphasis
Dr. Jane Hill
304.696.6416
hillj@marshall.edu
Office: Corbly Hall 344
Geography Geography: B.A., B.S., M.A., M.S.

  • Weather Broadcasting
  • Meteorology
Dr. Joshua Hagen
304.696.2505
hagenj@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 207
History History: B. A., M.A. Dr. Dan Holbrook
304.696.2417
holbrook@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 128
Humanities Humanities: B.A., M.A.

  • Classics
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
Dr. John Vielkind (Undergraduate Director)
304.696.4640
vielkind@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 417 

Dr. Eric Lassiter (Graduate Director)
304.696.1923
lassiter@marshall.edu
Office: Graduate College 233

International Affairs International Affairs, B.A. Dr. Jess Morrissette
304.696.2760
morrissette@marshall.edu
Office: Smith Hall 739
Modern Languages
  • French, B.A.
  • German, B.A.
  • Japanese B.A.
  • Spanish: B.A., M.A.
Dr. Caroline Perkins
304.696.2701
perkins@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 408
Philosophy Humanities, B.A. Dr. John Vielkind
304.696.4640
vielkind@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 417
Political Science Political Science: B.A., M.A. Dr. Marybeth Beller
304.696.2763
beller@marshall.edu
Office: Smith Hall 740F
Psychology Psychology: B.A., M.A., Psy. D. Dr. Steven Mewaldt
304.696.2777
mewaldt@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 311
Religious Studies Humanities: B.A. Dr. Jeffrey Ruff
304.696.2702
ruff@marshall.edu
Office: Harris Hall 411
Sociology and Anthropology
  • Sociology: B.A., M.A. (with optional Anthropology emphasis)
  • Anthropology, B.A.
Dr.Martin Laubach
304.696.2798
laubach@marshall.edu
Office: Smith Hall 730

Certificates and Other Programs

Department Program Contact
Classics Latin: Graduate Certificate Dr. Caroline Perkins | 304.696.2701 |  perkins@marshall.edu | Smith 709
English Applied Linguistics: Graduate Certificate Dr. Kristen Lillvis | 304.696.6269 | lillvis@marshall.edu | Corbyl Hall 314
English Creative Writing: Graduate Certificate Dr. Kristen Lillvis | 304.696.6269 |lillvis@marshall.edu | Corbly Hall 314
English Medieval and Renaissance Studies: Graduate Certificate Dr. Kateryna Schray | 304.696.2404 |  rudnytzk @marshall.edu | Corbly 444
Geography Geospatial Information Science: Minor, Undergraduate and Graduate Certificate Dr. James Leonard | 304.696.4626 |  leonard@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 208
History (Undergraduate)
Humanities (Graduate)
Appalachian Studies: Minor, Undergraduate and Graduate Certificate Dr. Kevin Barksdale | 304.696.2956 |  barksdale@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 115 (Undergraduate)Dr. Eric Lassiter | 304.696.1923 |  lassiter@marshall.edu | Graduate College 233 (Graduate)
History
African and African American Studies: Minor Dr. David Trowbridge | 304.696.2717 |  david.trowbridge@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 111
History 
Asian Studies: Minor, Undergraduate Certificate Dr. Anara Tabyshalieva | 304.696.2724 |  tabyshalieva@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 111
History
Latin American Studies: Minor, Undergraduate Certificate Dr. Christopher White 304.696.2722 | whitec@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 112
History  Sexuality Studies: Minor Dr. Shawn Schulenberg (Interim Director) | 304.696.2767 | schulenberg@marshall.edu | Smith Hall 739A
History  Women’s Studies: Minor, Graduate Certificate Dr. Laura Michele Diener (Interim Director) |
304.696.2954 | diener@marshall.edu | Harris Hall 107
Humanities Program Evaluation: Graduate Certificate Dr. Eric Lassiter | 304.696.1923 | lassiter@marshall.edu | Graduate College 233
Political Science Pre Law: Advising program to help students who plan to attend law school with preparation, applications, and admissions processes. Dr. Robert Berhman | 304.696.2762 | berhmanr@marshall.edu | Smith Hall 208
Psychology Behavioral Statistics: Graduate Certificate Dr. Steven Mewaldt | 304.696.2777 | mewaldt@marshall.edu | Harris 330
Psychology   Clinical Psychology: Graduate Certificate Dr. Steven Mewaldt | 304.696.2777 | mewaldt@marshall.edu | Harris 330