Lambda Alpha is the National Collegiate Honors Society for Anthropology.  The Beta Chapter of West Virginia, formed in 1995, is housed in our department.   Membership confers certain privileges, including national academic recognition, scholarships, and the opportunity to publish in a national anthropological journal.


Qualifications for membership are:

  1. 2.5 GPA overall
  2. 3.0 GPA in Anthropology/ Sociology classes
  3. A minimum of 12 hours of academic Anthropology OR 6 hours Anthropology and 6 hours Sociology

Application for membership is made only once every academic year, usually near the end of the Fall Semester.  Qualified applicants are required to fill out a form to be signed by the faculty advisor and submit a one-time fee of $25.00.


Faculty advisor:  Nicholas Freidin, D.Phil.

Year Students
2013-14 Allen Armel

Ryan West


2012-13  Sarah Adkins
Emily Alleman
Johnna Bailey
Tyler Ball
Arianne Moore
Allison Stamper
2010-11 Ennis Barbery

Emily Brooks

Brittany Vance


2008-09 Sarah Burns

Robert DeMuth

Brittany Griffith

Frederick Haden III

Jenafer Hinchman

Amanda Payne

2006-07 Andrew Adkins

Casey Cunninghan        


2005-06 Michael Adkins

Sarah Posin

2003-04 Tara Allman

Gael Neace   

Tania Stricker

2001-02 Jason Baker
2000-01 Rebecca Klug
1999-00 Gretchen Acker

Matthew Oldaker

1997-98 Lora Dyer 

Bruce Gowings

Tracie Kinder

Troy Kogel    

Tatiana Mynuk

Edith Prino

Joseph Weikle

1996-97 Stacey Angel 

Rebecca Brewer

Richard Butler

Gregory Jones

Ronald Thomas