MODELING CIVIL DISCOURSE & ADVANCING CIVIC LITERACY SINCE 1994



Professor of History <u>Dr. Chris White</u> accepting the 30th Drinko Fellowship award from Executive Director Dr. Montserrat Miller.



<u>Dr. Luke Eric Lassiter</u> presenting his Drinko Fellowship project on "New Generation Change Agents in Appalachia" at the 2025 Symposium.

DRINKO FELLOWS IN THE NEWS



Dr. F. Robin O'Keefe is lead author of an article published in the Journal of Systematic Paleontology identifying a new species of animal that left 85-million-year-old fossils in British Columbia. "It is always gratifying to discover something unexpected. ... Traskasaura [sandrae] is a strange, convergently evolved, fascinating beast." View the Press Release

PROGRAM SUPPORT & DEVELOPMENT
SPECIAL EVENTS & AWARDS
SCHOLARSHIP & CREATIVE PRODUCTION

SUPPORT THE WORK OF THE DRINKO ACADEMY

Dr. Chris White Named 30th Distinguished Drinko Fellow

Since joining the faculty in Fall 2006, Dr. White has taught Latin American history, U.S. history, world history, food history, conspiracies in U.S. history, and courses on the war on drugs and the global south. He leads the History Dept.'s "Food Past/Food Present" series, has authored four books, coedited one, and received the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism's Outstanding Community Contributor Award and the Distinguished Artists and Scholars Award. View the Press Release

2025 DRINKO SYMPOSIUM

This year's Drinko Symposium was attended by more than 170 faculty, staff, administrators, and community members who gathered in the Don Morris Room of the Memorial Student Center for a formal dinner, a poster exhibit, and a multimedia presentation by 28th Drinko Fellow Dr. Luke Eric Lassiter about his two-year project on "New Generation Change Agents in Appalachia." See 2025 Drinko Symposium photos by Rick Haye and Marilyn Testerman-Haye.



Executive Director <u>Dr. Montserrat Miller</u> at the 2025 Symposium recognizing Drinko Fellows <u>Dr. Ed Bingham</u>, a <u>Faculty Distinguished Service Award winner</u>, and <u>Dr. Rachael Peckham</u>, who was recently named <u>West Virginia Professor of the Year</u>.

DRINKO FELLOWS AT THE 2025 SYMPOSIUM



Pictured in the back row left to right: <u>Dr. Luke Eric Lassiter</u>, <u>Dr. Ed Bingham</u>, <u>Prof. Burnis Morris</u>, <u>Dr. Bob Alexander</u>, <u>Dr. F. Robin O'Keefe</u>, <u>Dr. Rachael Peckham</u>, <u>Dr. Jeff Powell</u>, <u>Prof. Sandra Reed</u>, and <u>Dr. Wendell Dobbs</u>. Front row left to right: <u>Dr. Vicki Stroeher</u>, <u>Dr. Montserrat Miller</u>, and <u>Dr. Mary Beth Reynolds</u>.

MARSHALL FACULTY AWARD-WINNERS



Center for Teaching & Learning Faculty Award-Winners recognized at the 2025 Drinko Symposium pictured in the back row left to right: Drinko Fellow Dr. Ed Bingham, Dr. Uday Tate, Dr. Lisa Heaton, Prof. Dan Hollis, Dr. Haroon Malik, Prof. Pam Holland, and Dr. Zelideth Rivas - an Honors College Faculty Award-winner. Front row left to right: Dr. Sara Henning, Dr. Rick Gage, Dr. Molly Mersmann, Dr. Hilary Brewster, Drinko Fellow Dr. Rachael Peckham - named West Virginia Professor of the Year by the Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia, Prof. Cat Pleska, Dr. Kyle Palmquist, and Dr. Kimberly McFall.



PROGRAM SUPPORT & DEVELOPMENT
SPECIAL EVENTS & AWARDS

SCHOLARSHIP & CREATIVE PRODUCTION

SUPPORT THE WORK OF THE DRINKO ACADEMY