Faculty Senate

Mission Statement

The Marshall University Faculty Senate was established June 1, 1987 as a result of a majority vote of the faculty. The body is composed of proportional representation from the following units -- the College of Business, the College of Education and Professional Development, the College of Arts & Media, the College of Health Professions, the College of Information Technology & Engineering, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Science, the Graduate School of Education & Professional Development, the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, the School of Pharmacy, the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism & Mass Communications, the Marshall University Libraries, and one At-Large Senator from the South Charleston campus. Senators are elected at large from each of these units to two-year terms.

Much of the preliminary work of the Faculty Senate is managed in the Standing Committees and the Graduate Council which report to the Faculty Senate and whose actions (with certain exceptions) are subject to final review, modification, and approval by the full Faculty Senate.

Recommendations & Actions for past years may be reviewed at the Recommendation Archives.

Further information regarding the operation of the Faculty Senate may be found in *The Constitution of the Marshall University Faculty*.

All referenced materials may be found at the Faculty Senate website: www.marshall.edu/faculty-senate