Pathway of Prominence

In recognition of lifetime gifts and pledges of $1,000,000 or more to Marshall University.


The Marshall University Pathway of Prominence was established to permanently recognize leadership gifts of $1 million or more to Marshall University.

Members are recognized and/or memorialized on a walkway located at the heart of the Marshall campus. Constructed of green marble, the pathway displays bronze plaques with each name or set of names. In addition to recognizing Marshall's most generous donors, the Pathway serves to remind students, faculty, staff and visitors about the importance of philanthropy and continued support for growth of the University.

The Pathway of Prominence was unveiled on Friday, September 20, 2002, as part of the Campaign for National Prominence kickoff weekend.

Pathway of Prominence Members

Alex E. Booth, Jr.
John Oliver Butler
Ruth Elizabeth Butler
Bliss L. Charles
Robert L. Dardinger
Dianna L. Dardinger
John Deaver Drinko
Elizabeth Gibson Drinko
Clayton W. Dunlap
Bernice Virginia Dunlap
James F. Edwards
Joan C. Edwards
James E. Gibson
Verna K. Gibson
Joseph M. Gillette
Pamela D. Gillette
James H. "Buck" Harless
Donald B. Harper
Timothy L. Haymaker
Sandra K. Haymaker

Charles B. Hedrick
Mary Jo Locke Hedrick
Elizabeth McDowell Lewis
Maier Foundation
Wilbur E. Myers
C. Fred Shewey
Christine Shewey
Lyle A. Smith
Jerry N. Thompson
Daniel E. Wagoner
Virginia U. Wagoner
Arthur and Joan Weisberg Family
F. Selby Wellman
Donna Bias Wellman
Charles F. White
William E. Willis
Joyce L. Willis

Click "give now" to make a convenient and secure online gift to The Marshall University Foundation, Inc.

Planned Giving

Your journey is made one destination at a time. Discover what gift plan will work best for you.

Planned Giving Programs >>

Gifts Anyone Can Make

Did you know there are ways to support Marshall University that don't affect your current lifestyle or your family's security? You can support Marshall with gifts that don't impact the way you live.

Learn More >>