Welcome to Marshall University’s Honors College!  We are home to a vibrant group of 600 student-scholars in a wide range of academic majors.  The talented faculty who teach honors courses and seminars strive to expand horizons of honors students and to develop their inner abilities and interests to full potential.  Yet in the end, we know it is our highly capable students who create their own destinies by taking advantage of the College’s offerings and resources.

The honors curriculum emphasizes interdisciplinary knowledge and critical thinking.  It is designed to engender broad perspectives, a rich foundation of knowledge, and enhanced creative skills.  We want students who complete the College’s requirements to feel that they are empowered to have a rewarding life, engage in life-long learning, and make meaningful contributions to our world.  The Honors College’s small class sizes, computer facilities, academic advising, sponsored events, and special opportunities all contribute to achieving that goal.

A university education should guide and mentor students to learn deeply, analyze clearly, think critically and create robustly. The Honors College does this by both challenging and supporting its students, and by providing a structure for students and faculty to be engaged in a community of exceptional learners.

I invite you to explore our website at www.marshall.edu/honors to see what we can offer to qualifying students.  If you have any questions about the Honors College, please contact us at honorscollege@marshall.edu.

Ron Bieniek, Dean

Ronald Bieniek is Dean of the Honors College and Professor of Engineering. Trained as an atomic and molecular theorist, he has nurtured student leadership, critical thinking, diverse ways of knowing, and professional engagement. After spending his first year of graduate study at MIT, Bieniek transferred to Harvard University, where he earned a masters degree in history of science and a doctorate in physics.. He has been a Paine Lecturer in Religion at the University of Missouri and currently chairs the College Board’s national development committee for the SAT Physics Subject Test.