The spring 2019 John Marshall Leadership Fellows Program cohort has been selected. The fellows are:

    • Lacie Bittinger, College of Business (Mentor:  Brandi Jacobs-Jones, Chief of Staff/Senior Vice President for Operations)
    • Shawn Chinn, Housing and Residence Life (Mentors:  Mistie Bibbee, Director of Housing and Resident Life, and Robert Easthom, HRL Associate Director of Facilities)
    • Habiba Chirchir, College of Science (Mentor:  Montserrat Miller, Executive Director of the John Deaver Drinko Academy/Professor of History)
    • Adam Dalton, College of Arts and Media (Mentor:  Sissy Isaacs, Associate Dean, College of Education and Professional Development)
    • Holly Dunmore, School of Medicine (Mentor:  Beth “Buffy” Hammers, Executive Director of Marshall Health
    • Rayshawn Eastman, Student Affairs (Mentor:  Sherri Smith, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs)
    • Zach Garrett, College of Health Professions (Mentor:  Gary McIlvain, Chair, School of Kinesiology)
    • Kristen Lillvis, College of Liberal Arts (Mentor:  Nicki LoCascio, Dean, Honors College)
    • Jessica Lowman, Institutional Research (Mentor:  Sherri Smith, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs)
    • Kim McFall, College of Education and Professional Development (Mentor:  Teresa Eagle, Dean, College of Education and Professional Development)
    • Timothy Melvin, Academic Affairs (Mentor:  Cedric Gathings, Vice President for Student Affairs)
    • Terri Moran, School of Pharmacy (Mentor:  Ginny Painter, Senior Vice President for Communications and Marketing)
    • Leah Payne, University Communications (Mentor:  Monica Brooks, Associate Vice President for Online Learning/Dean of University Libraries)
    • Kelli Prejean, College of Liberal Arts (Mentor:  Robert Bookwalter, Dean, College of Liberal Arts)
    • Brittany Riley, School of Pharmacy (Mentor:  Mary Beth Reynolds, Associate Vice President for Assessment)
    • Sabrina Thomas, Libraries (Mentor:  Monica Brooks, Associate Vice President for Online Learning/Dean of University Libraries)
    • Eric Wallace, Physical Plant (Mentor:  Travis Bailey, Director of Physical Plant)
    • Sandy York, College of Arts and Media (Mentor:  Janet Dooley, Assistant Dean, School of Journalism and Mass Communications)
    • Sharorong Zhang, College of Business (Mentor:  Avinandan Mukherjee, Dean, Lewis College of Business)

Academic institutions are complex organizations. Employees at all levels and in all departments must contribute to coordinated, effective action in the service of the mission of the institution. Effective leadership, at all levels of the organization, is necessary to facilitate the coordination of the functions of the institution.

In the 1819 Dartmouth College v. Woodward case, Chief Justice John Marshall described the university as an “artificial immortal being,” which lives beyond the lifespan of individual persons.

The university is an entity not limited to the lifespan of a particular board, or administrative team, or group of faculty, students, and alumni. As such, it is necessary for the institution to strategically develop new leaders as the institution evolves and experienced leaders transition to other positions or into retirement.

The John Marshall Leadership Fellows Program at Marshall University aims to:

      • Identify faculty, staff and administrators who have leadership potential;
      • Provide information, training and development activities related to institutional functions, policies and decision-making processes;
      • Build participants’ competence through leadership theory and research; and
      • Apply leadership principles to a timely problem-solving project, addressing an issue of significance to the university.

Eligibility:  Full-time tenured or probationary faculty and full-time classified or non-classified staff with leadership aspirations and a commitment to Marshall University are eligible to participate. For program details, click here.

Application Deadline:  The deadline for applications for the spring 2019 cohort is November 9, 2018. For application information click here.