Matheamtics Department Calendar of Events

Spring 2014

Date Event Time & Location
Wednesday, January 29 Department meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, February 12 Department meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Monday, March 10 ARI Colloquium (I). Dr. Jeff Hirst, Appalachian State University “Alan and Ada's Theoretical Machines Shawkey Room, MSC
Tuesday, March 11 ARI Colloquium (II). Dr. Jeff Hirst, Appalachian State University “Reverse Mathematics, Graphs, and Matchings Science 465
Wednesday, March 12 College of Science meeting 4:00pm, Science 465
Thursday, April 3 College of Science meeting 4:00pm, Science 465
Friday, April 4
– Saturday, April 5
Ohio section MAA meeting University of Toledo
Saturday, April 5 S.C.O.R.E.S.
Wednesday, April 23 Department meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, April 30 Senior capstone poster presentation 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 6 Marshall Mathematics Competition
Wednesday, May 7 AfterMath talk. Dr. Judith Silver. 4:00pm, SH 154
Saturday, May 10 University Commencement
Saturday, May 10 College of Science Hooding Ceremony 4:30pm, SH 154

Fall 2013

Date Event Time & Location
Wednesday, September 11 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, October 2 Colloquium. Dr. Lynne Yengulalp, University of Dayton. “Topological completeness”. 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, October 9 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, October 30 Colloquium Roger Estep, Marshall University
Filtered LeapFrog Time Integration with Enhanced Stability Properties
and Robert Hughes, Marshall University
Agent-based Modeling of Pandemic Influenza
4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, November 13 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Monday, November 18 Colloquium.
Dr. Thomas Mathew, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
The Assessment of Bioequivalence: A Statistical Overview
4:00pm, MSC BE5
Tuesday, November 19 Colloquium.
Dr. Thomas Mathew, University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Methodology and Some Applications”.
4:00pm, CH 105
Wednesday, December 4 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516

Spring 2013

Date Event Time & Location
Wednesday, January 16 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Tuesday, January 22 Discrete mathematics seminar 3:30pm, SH 437
Wednesday, January 30 Colloquium. Dr. Elizabeth Niese, Marshall University.
A family of Catalan objects
4:00pm, SH 511
Tuesday, February 5 Discrete mathematics seminar 3:30pm, SH 437
Wednesday, February 13 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Tuesday, February 19 Discrete mathematics seminar 3:30pm, SH 437
Wednesday, February 20 Colloquium. Dr. Anna Mummert, Marshall University
Unit Costs in Optimal Control of Epidemics
4:00pm, SH 511
Wednesday, February 27 Faculty meeting
Tuesday, March 12 Discrete mathematics seminar 3:30pm, SH 437
Wednesday, March 27 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, April 3 Assessment Day
Tuesday, April 9 Discrete mathematics seminar 3:30pm, SH 437
Wednesday, April 10 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, April 24 Colloquium. Dr. Carl Mummert, Marshall University.
If 1 + 1 = 9, does 2 + 2 = 7?
4:00pm, SH 511
Tuesday, April 30 Discrete mathematics seminar 3:30pm, SH 437
Wednesday, May 8 Faculty meeting
Tuesday, May 14 Marshall Mathematics Competition

Fall 2012

Date Event Time & Location
Wednesday, September 5 Discrete mathematics seminar. Dr. Carl Mummert, Marshall University 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, September 19 Discrete mathematics seminar. Dr. Michael Schroeder, Marshall University 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, September 26 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, October 10 Colloquium. Dr. John Drost, Marshall University
What is Strategic Voting and What Can Be Done About It? (Hint: Not Much)
4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, October 10 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, October 17 Discrete mathematics seminar. Dr. Elizabeth Niese, Marshall University. 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, October 31 Discrete mathematics seminar. Dr. JiYoon Jung, Marshall University 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, November 14 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, November 28 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
Wednesday, December 5 Discrete mathematics seminar. Dr. Carl Mummert, Marshall University 4:00pm, SH 516
Friday, December 7 Oral comprehensive exam. Caleb Sotak. 11:00am, SH 437
Tuesday, December 11 Undergraduate capstone poster presentation 3:30pm, SH 6th floor
Wednesday, December 12 Faculty meeting 4:00pm, SH 516
 
College of Science • One John Marshall Drive • Science Building 270 • Huntington, WV 25755
(304) 696-2372