AAPT Appalachian Section 2013 Meeting

  • Announcement
  • The fall meeting of the Appalachian Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers
  • Venues: Marshall Campus (Campus map)
  • Parking is available without restriction Friday afteer 4:00 pm and Saturday in the 3rd Avenue Garage, or on the surface.
  • Accommodations
  • Registration
    • To register and if you plan to give a talk, please email Maria Babiuc Hamilton at babiuc@marshall.edu. There is no fee to register.
    • The deadline for abstract submission of contributed talk is October 14.
    • Late registration begins on October 14 and continues through the first day of the conference.
    • The AAPT Appalachian Chapter membership dues of $10 and $10 for the food will be collected at the door. Students and retirees are not required to pay the dues.
    • Workshop presenters might require separate participation fee. CEU credits are available for in-service teachers.
    • There will be a reception dinner with invited talk on Friday night, register rearly if you want to participate in the Friday activities.
  • Program Please click here for the meeting agenda.

      Our invited speaker, Dr. Beth Cunningham (Executive officer of the American Association of Physics Teachers) will talk on Friday evening about the role of the physics education community in teaching sustainability, and will present a set of recently developed resources for teaching sustainability, developed in collaboration with other science disciplinary societies and funded by the Department of Education.

      The contributed talks are scheduled on Saturday mornng and mid-afternoon. There will be also a workshop presented by Doug Forrest, of Pickerington High School – North, Pickerington, OH, and Kevin McChesney, of Pickerington High School – Central, Pickerington, OH.  Doug Forrest leads Team Physics, and Kevin McChesney created Web O’Phun and TigerPhysics. They will show how a modeling lesson function, then follow up with a discussion about how modeling works. The title of their workshop is: "A Modeling Teaser”

The Department of Physics and Physical Sciences, host of the 2013 meeting of the AAPT-Appalachian Section, is located in the Science Hall, on the north side of the Marshall University Huntington campus. The meeting was hosted at Marshall University previously, in 2001, 1992, 1983, 1977, 1972, 1962, and 1953.

Participants and Talks

  • "The Perils of Big Data", by Tracey DeLaney (West Virginia Wesleyan College)
  • "New Fluid Mechanics Experiments at Wesleyan", by Bert Popson (West Virginia Wesleyan College)
  • "The Physics of the Nd:YAG Laser and Molecular  Applications", by Joe Wiest (West Virginia Wesleyan College)
  • "Scattering of Conduction Electrons by Adsorbates" by Dennis Kuhl (Marietta College)
  • "A Potpourri of Introductory Labs " by Dr. Greg Puskar (West Virginia University)
  • "A Science Teachers' Newsletter", by F.B. Stumpf, Ohio University
  • "Some Comet Physics", by Stephen Luzader (Frostburg State University)
  • "Outreach to young scholars: the chaotic world", by Kenneth Hicks (Ohio University)
College of Science • One John Marshall Drive • Science Building 270 • Huntington, WV 25755
cos@marshall.edu • (304) 696-2372