Department of Political Science Chair Elections

The Department of Political Science will elect a "chair" to serve a four year term (subject to the approval of the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts). Term of service will begin on July first, run for four years, and end on June 30.

Any tenured, full time, Political Science faculty member is eligible to run for the chair's position.

Procedure:

In February of a "chair election year" individuals will self-identify as interested in the position of chair at the first departmental meeting of February. The election itself will take place at the second departmental meeting of February. In the event that there is no second departmental meeting in February, the election will take place at the first departmental meeting in March.

Voting will be restricted to tenured and tenure track full time Political Science faculty. Voting will be conducted by secret ballot, prepared in advance by the department secretary and then, distributed by the department secretary at the meeting. Ballots will be collected by the department secretary and will be counted outside the presence of any departmental faculty. The secretary will return to the meeting room and announce the results immediately.

Any ties will result in a runoff vote between the 2 highest vote winners. If the voting is still tied after the runoff, chair selection will be decided by a game of chance. (Draw of high card or flip of a coin)

In the event that no one self-identifies as a candidate for the chair's position, all eligible tenured, full time faculty members will be listed on a selection ballot prepared by the secretary. Each tenured and tenure track full time faculty will then rank order – in order of preference – the list of eligible faculty. The department secretary will collect the selection ballots and calculate the results outside the presence of the department faculty. Faculty will be given 1 point for each first place ranking, 2 points for each second place ranking, etc. Points will be total and the individual with the lowest point total will be "interim chair" for a one year period. In February of the interim chair's one year term, elections will again be conducted.

In the event that a chair steps down or is otherwise unable to serve as chair (with the exception of a one semester sabbatical) the election procedure will begin at the very next departmental meeting – the first meeting to self-identify candidates and the following meeting to elect a new chair. The term for that chair will begin as soon as the previous chair steps down and continue until June 30th, ending in the year the previously elected chair's term would have ended.

Considerations:

The Dean of the College of Liberal Arts has the right to accept or not accept the department's recommendation for chair. In the event that the Dean does not accept the department's choice, the department will conduct another election at the following departmental meeting. Eligible faculty at this point will be all tenured, full time Political Science faculty members with the exception of the individual who was rejected by the Dean.

The tenured and tenure track faculty of the Department of Political Science reserve the right to hold a "vote of no confidence" and share those results with the Cola Dean. Any tenured or tenure track full time faculty member of the department may ask for a vote no confidence. The request must be made during a department meeting, and include documentation of chronic problems in the workplace under the purview of the Department Chair. At the next departmental meeting, the chair will share any relevant information that he/she wishes to. Any other faculty member may share relevant information. The individual who first asked for a vote of no confidence may withdraw that request at any time.

The actual vote of no confidence will be conducted by the department secretary during the week following the departmental meeting. Ballots must be prepared by the secretary. Tenured and tenure track full time faculty members will vote by going to the secretary's office and marking the prepared ballot. The time period for casting a vote must extend for two consecutive work days. The secretary is responsible for the security of the votes and to ensure that each faculty member votes no more than once. Once the voting period ends, the secretary will count the votes and email the departmental faculty, copying the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts, with the results. A vote of "no confidence" is advisory only.