Tuesday, December 13, 2011
Contact: Leah Clark Payne, Media Communications Specialist (304) 696-6397

Marshall University Board of Governors approves school color change

HUNTINGTON, W.Va.—The Marshall University Board of Governors during its meeting today adopted a resolution to change the university’s official green color to PANTONE Matching System (PMS) 356, referred by Thundering Herd fans as Kelly green.

The resolution was adopted unanimously and is effective January 1, 2012.

Marshall University athletics has historically used Kelly green, even when the university switched to the darker green color (PMS 357) in 2001. The university test-marketed the Kelly green color earlier this year. Marshall athletics and administration officials said it was overwhelmingly positively received by fans and alumni, which led to the decision to return to Kelly green as the university’s official color.

Marshall University officials say there will be minimal cost change implications, as campus items, such as letterhead and business cards will be replaced with the logotype in Kelly green only as the existing darker green items run out.  

In other action, the board approved a resolution to select Kansas City-based architecture company, AECOM, as the firm for the planning and design of four athletic facilities: indoor practice facility and track; academic support center; sports medicine translational research center; and soccer stadium complex.

“This is a great company that has designed dozens of sports-related facilities across the nation,” said Mike Hamrick, director of athletics. “These are four, very unique, diverse, yet connected facilities and we think AECOM will do an excellent job.”

The board of governors welcomed a new member today as well.

Wyatt Scaggs, a 1982 Marshall University graduate and Logan business owner, was appointed to the Marshall University Board of Governors by West Virginia Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin earlier this fall. The Hon. Menis Ketchum, Justice of the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals, swore in Scaggs during the board’s meeting today. Ketchum formerly was a member of the Marshall University Board of Governors.

“I am looking forward to serving with the folks at Marshall University,” Scaggs said. “It’s a fine institution and one I am privileged to be associated with.”

Scaggs replaces former member Brig. Gen. H.F. Mooney, who served as a board member from 2004 through November 2011.


Photo: Wyatt Scaggs has joined the Marshall University Board of Governors. Photo by Rick Haye/Marshall University.

For further information, contact:  Office of University Communications
Marshall University | 213 Old Main | Huntington, WV 25755-1090
Fax: (304) 696-3197