Wednesday, June 27, 2012
Contact: Dave Wellman, Director of Communications (304) 696-7153

Doctor of Pharmacy program granted Precandidate accreditation status

Status is a major step toward Marshall receiving accreditation

– Marshall University’s Doctor of Pharmacy program has been granted Precandidate accreditation status by the Accreditation Council For Pharmacy Education (ACPE) Board of Directors, MU President Stephen J. Kopp announced today.


The Precandidate status is a major step toward Marshall receiving full accreditation. This status authorizes the School of Pharmacy to enroll its inaugural class, which will begin this fall. The first class is expected to total up to 80 students.


To reach its decision, the ACPE board reviewed the report of an evaluation team, documenting the findings from a comprehensive on-site evaluation.


“This achievement is a momentous one, one that is on the level approaching that of the founding of the School of Medicine,” Kopp said. “It should be a source of great pride for all who care about Marshall and the future of those we serve.”


The Precandidate accreditation term granted for the Doctor of Pharmacy program extends until June 30, 2013. A comprehensive on-site evaluation for consideration of advancing the Doctor of Pharmacy program from Precandidate to Candidate accreditation status will be scheduled during the academic year 2012-2013.  The accreditation process consists of three steps culminating with graduation of the first class and adherence to all ACPE accreditation standards. 


“The faculty and staff of the Marshall University School of Pharmacy have been working diligently to develop an outstanding curriculum and educational program,” said Kevin Yingling, R.Ph., M.D., inaugural dean of the School of Pharmacy. “We are excited to begin educating this fine next generation of talented pharmacists, here at Marshall University.”   


Kopp said that during conversations with ACPE representatives, they made it very clear that they are not accrediting new pharmacy schools with any regularity and only the ones that meet their stringent standards earn this status.


“We have met those standards and will continue to do so,” Kopp said.


Marshall’s School of Pharmacy is located at the Robert W. Coon Education Building on the grounds of the Huntington VA Medical Center in Spring Valley. An ongoing $9.3 million renovation project on the building will result in a 76,000 square-foot learning, research and pharmacy practice facility. Work is on schedule for the building to open in time for the start of the fall semester.


The Marshall University Board of Governors voted unanimously in December 2009 to approve the awarding of the Doctor of Pharmacy degree. It is estimated that nearly 40 new high-paying faculty and staff positions will be created at the school within the first four years, and the school is expected to generate more than $150 million in regional economic impact.


The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) accredits Doctor of Pharmacy programs offered by Colleges and Schools of Pharmacy in the United States and selected non-US sites.   It is located at 135 South LaSalle Street, Suite 4100, Chicago, IL 60503, 312/644-3575; FAX 312/664-4652, website

For further information, contact:  Office of University Communications
Marshall University | 213 Old Main | Huntington, WV 25755-1090
Fax: (304) 696-3197