Monday, September 10, 2012
Contact: Leah Clark Payne, Public Affairs Director, Schools of Medicine and Pharmacy (304) 691-1713

Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine students and faculty inducted into national honor society

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Twelve 4th-year medical students at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine were inducted today into the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) in a ceremony at the Harless Auditorium in the Marshall University Medical Center.

The society, established in 2002, is an association of individuals and medical school chapters whose members are selected as exemplars of empathy, compassion, altruism, integrity and service in working with patients, their families and others in the field of medicine.

The GHHS is an initiative of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation which was created in 1988 by Dr. Arnold P. Gold and his wife Dr. Sandra Gold in an effort to nurture and preserve the tradition of the caring physician.   The Gold Humanism Honor Society now celebrates 10 years and 101 chapters in the United States and Canada.

“My husband and I are delighted to represent the Arnold P. Gold Foundation at this inaugural induction of the Gold Humanism Honor Society,” Dr. Sandra Gold said. “The creation of this new chapter signifies the students and faculty at Marshall place high value on the interpersonal skills and attitudes that are essential for excellent patient care.”

Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro, dean of the School of Medicine, was honored in 2002 with the Arnold P. Gold-Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey Humanism in Medicine Award.

“The GHHS honors that aspect of being a health care provider which I think is most admirable. Of the different distinctions that I’ve been fortunate enough to receive, being selected as an honoree from the GHHS in 2002 is probably the one I’m proudest of,” Shapiro said.

Shapiro went on to say he’s extremely proud of the Marshall students and Marshall faculty who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to excellence and compassion in patient care and are now being inducted.

The following students were inducted into the honorary:


Several faculty members were also inducted into the society and recognized as recipients of The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.   They include: Dr. Renee S. Domanico, associate professor, pediatrics; Dr. Shirley M. Neitch, professor, internal medicine; and Dr. Gerard J. Oakley, professor, obstetrics & gynecology. Dr. Darshana T. Shah, professor, pathology and associate dean of faculty affairs & professional development was also inducted and will serve as chapter advisor.

Attending today’s ceremony was Dr. Richard I. Levin, newly-selected President and CEO of the Gold Foundation.   Levin formerly served as vice principal for health affairs and dean of the faculty of medicine at McGill University in Montreal, as well as vice dean for education, faculty and academic affairs at New York University.

In addition to creating the Gold Humanism Honor Society, the Arnold P. Gold Foundation is credited with starting the White Coat Ceremony welcoming medical students into their first year of education.  The White Coat Ceremony or a similar rite of passage takes place at more than 90 percent of the schools of medicine and osteopathy in the United States.   The Foundation also facilitates nearly a dozen other programs all geared toward nurturing the relationship between physician and patient.

For further information, contact:  Office of University Communications
Marshall University | 213 Old Main | Huntington, WV 25755-1090
Fax: (304) 696-3197