Friday, April 05, 2013
Contact: Leah C. Payne, Director of Public Affairs, Schools of Medicine and Pharmacy 304-691-1713

Marshall University School of Medicine recognizes national medical honorary inductees

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Ten individuals with the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine are being inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the nation’s medical honorary.   The inductees include medical students, resident physicians, faculty members and an alumnus, each selected based on academic achievements and contributions to medicine.

“This is a significant honor for everyone,” said Dr. Marie C. Veitia, associate dean of student affairs.  “Scholastic achievement is one of the top criteria for nomination, but other areas, including leadership qualities, ethical standards, and service to school and community also figure prominently in the selection process.” 

The student inductees are as follows:

In addition to the students selected for the honor, the following medical residents, faculty and an alumnus are being honored:

The inductees will be honored at a banquet Thursday, April 18.


Photos of the inductees may be seen at:

For further information, contact:  Office of University Communications
Marshall University | 213 Old Main | Huntington, WV 25755-1090
Fax: (304) 696-3197