Wednesday, April 24, 2013
Contact: Dave Wellman, Director of Communications (304) 696-7153

New advisory board created at School of Medicine

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro, dean of the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, today announced the creation of a new advisory board which will provide recommendations to the dean’s office on matters of strategic development, community interests and fundraising efforts, ultimately advancing the school’s educational mission.

“In order for our School of Medicine to continue its growth in a healthy and successful trajectory, it’s essential we reach out to our many constituencies, listen to their counsel and respond,” Shapiro said.   “I applaud the efforts of our development and alumni director, Linda Holmes, for putting together a group of dynamic individuals who will certainly help us move forward.”

The newly formed board will be led by chair Tamela J. White , a former nurse and hospital administrator who has a master’s degree in public health from Johns Hopkins University.  She is also a member and founding attorney with Farrell, White and Legg, a legal firm in Huntington.

Dr. Mark F. Sheridan, a 1987 graduate of the SOM, former SOM Alumni Association president and a local physician in private practice, has been selected by the board as chair-elect.

The following people were named to the inaugural dean’s advisory board:

2-year term

3-year term

4-year term

Ex-Officio Members

The board had its first organizational meeting this month and is expected to meet bi-annually.


Photo: Front row – Linda Holmes, director, development and alumni affairs; Dr. Joseph Shapiro, dean; Tammy White, chair. Back row – Monica Hatfield; Dr. Shari Clarke; Dr. Paulette Wehner, president, SOM Alumni Association; Dr. Maurice Mufson; Dr. Joseph Assaley; Steven Shattls; Dr. Dev Rellan; Dr. Charles  “Skip” Turner. Not in the picture are Sharon Ambrose, Dr. Mark Sheridan, chair-elect, Dr. Omayma Touma and Joan Weisberg. Photo by Leah C. Payne, Marshall University.

For further information, contact:  Office of University Communications
Marshall University | 213 Old Main | Huntington, WV 25755-1090
Fax: (304) 696-3197