FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Monday, June 10, 2013
Contact: Pat Dickson, University Communications 304-746-1971
Project makes Glenwood Estate more publicly accessible
CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The Marshall University Graduate Humanities Program is hosting another installment of the Glenwood Project, a three-part initiative now in its final phase that seeks to make the Glenwood Estate on Charleston’s West Side more publicly accessible through archaeological and historical analysis.
The stately Georgian-style mansion sits on the corner of Orchard Street and Park Avenue, just a short distance from Stonewall Jackson Middle School. It is a rich repository of the history of Charleston and the Kanawha Valley as well as of the estate’s early owners, whose names would become familiar to Charlestonians through the streets that today bear their names.
On June 30, the public can get a glimpse into the colorful past of the estate, learn about its rich history and share his or her memories through Glenwood Memories/Histories, a presentation of the Glenwood Project which will take place at the pre-Civil War estate. The program is free and open to the public and will include:
• 1 p.m. – The Glenwood Project, Dr. Luke Eric Lassiter, program director of the Graduate Humanities Program;
• 1:15 p.m. – Oral Histories of Glenwood, Dr. Elizabeth Campbell, faculty member in the Marshall University Graduate School of Education and Professional Development;
• 1:30 p.m. – Historic Glenwood: Window on the West Side, Dr. Billy Joe Peyton of West Virginia State University and the MU Graduate Humanities Program;
• 2:15 p.m. – Landscape Archeology, Glenwood and the Road to Urbanization, Dr. Robert Maslowski of the Marshall University Graduate Humanities Program;
• 3 p.m. – Sharing Memories of Glenwood
Glenwood was built in 1852 by James Laidley on a vast 366-acre tract that stretched from the current Delaware Avenue, Somerset Drive and the Chandler Branch Drive of Edgewood Hills to the Kanawha River.
Laidley, the founder of the Charleston newspaper, The Western Register, was forced by financial reverses to sell the home in 1857 to George W. Summers.
Portions of the estate were sold off as it was passed down through generations until 1978 when the final owner, Summers’ great-granddaughter, Lucy Quarrier, deeded it to the West Virginia College of Graduate Studies, which later became part of Marshall University.
Glenwood is now owned and maintained by the Historic Glenwood Foundation, which formerly was the Marshall University Graduate College Foundation.
“It provides a unique history into the complex history of Charleston, the Kanawha Valley and West Virginia,” Lassiter said. “Much of the estate’s history is contained in the documents and materials at Glenwood.”
An objective of the Glenwood Project is to facilitate public engagement in a variety of ways, including an archival database, public workshops and seminars such as this one, development of the Marshall University Graduate Humanities curriculum, and other activities.
The Glenwood Project is funded through a partnership with the West Virginia Humanities Council, Council of West Virginia Archaeology, Kanawha Valley Historical and Preservation Society, Historic Glenwood Foundation, Marshall University Graduate School of Education and Professional Development and Marshall University College of Liberal Arts.
For additional information, call 304-746-1923 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.