Faculty

Marianna Footo-Linz
Department Chair

Professor
Ph.D., University of North Carolina
Office: HH 330
Phone: (304) 696-2774
E-Mail: linz@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Child Development, Child Assessment, Integrated Assessment II, Advanced Development, Clinic Supervision.
Research Interests: Attention Deficit Learning Disorders and Issues Relevant to Appalachian Children and their Families.

George Adkins
Adjunct Faculty
MA, Marshall University
Office: HH 343-B
Phone: (304) 696-3381

Melissa Atkins
Undergraduate Coordinator
Assistant Professor
Ph.D, West Virginia University
Office: HH 311
Phone: (304) 696-2779
E-Mail: stinson8@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Human Sexuality, Experimental, Statistics, Developmental, Social
Research Interests: 

Keith W. Beard
Psy.D. Program Director
Professor
Psy.D., Wright State University
Office: HH 331-A
Phone: (304) 696-2781
E-Mail: beard@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Diagnosis and Treatment Planning, Group Therapy, Supervision of Clinical Practicum, Psychotherapy Sequence I and II, Human Sexuality, Abnormal, and Personality
Research Interests: Psychotherapy with Adult, Adolescent, and Children, Assessment (personality and vocational career), Pop Culture and Personality, specialty in sexuality issues, religion and psychology, and maladaptive use of technology

Jeff Boggess
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., West Virginia University
Office: HH
Phone: (304) 696-
E-Mail: boggessj@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests:
Research Interests:

Jonathan D. Day-Brown
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Louisville
Office: HH 314
Phone: (304) 696-2778
E-Mail: daybrown@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Physiological Psychology, Sensation and Perception, Animal Behavior, Psychoparmacology
Research Interests: Visual Signal Processing, Interactions between Visual and Limbic Systems, Visual Neuroscience

Brittany Canady
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Office: HH 304
Phone: (304) 696-
E-Mail: b.canady@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Abnormal Psychology, Differential Diagnosis
Research Interests: Couples, Coping with Illness, Health Behavior, Intimate Partner Violence

Hyeman Choi
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Ohio University
Office: HH 306
Phone: (304) 696 2783
Email: choih@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Social Psychology, Psychology of Happiness, Psychology of Gambling
Research Interests: Social cognition, emotion, moral judgment

April Fugett-Fuller
General MA Program Coordinator
Professor
Ph.D., University of Kansas
Office: HH 312
Phone: (304) 696-2776
E-Mail: fugett5@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Psychology of Learning, Psychometrics, Elementary Behavioral Statistics, Intermediate Statistics, Advanced Qualitative Analysis, Pop culture, Sensation and Perception, Clinical Research, Behavioral Methods, and Capstone
Research Interests: Reading, Spelling, Semantic Memory, Learning, Implicit Memory, Psycholinguistics, Language Processing, Sentence Processing, Neighborhood Density, Influence of Culture on Lexicality

Keelon L. Hinton
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Howard University
Office: HH 224
Phone: (304) 696-3379
E-Mail: k.hinton@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Child Development, Adult Development, Advanced Development, Research in Psychology, Love-Intimacy-and Attachment, Race and Culture in the Developmental Process, Racism-Sexism-and Homophobia in the Media
Research Interests: Racial Identity, Multicultural Competency, Family Functioning, Black Families

Dawn Goel
Associate Professor
Ph.D,, University of Tennessee
Office: HH 313
Phone: (304) 696-2914
E-Mail: dawn.goel@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Social psychology and experimental psychology
Research Interests: Social justice, health care disparities, attitudes, prejudice, and gender roles

Penny Koontz
Clinic Director, Campus Clinic

Associate Professor
Psy.D., Marshall University
Office: HH 315
Phone: (304) 696-2768
E-Mail: koontz7@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Health Psychology, Experimental Psychology, and Abnormal Psychology
Research Interests:Behavioral Health Psychology, Obesity, Disordered Eating, Addictions

Doug Lanning
Assistant Professor
Ph.D.,
Office: HH 305
Phone:
Email: lanningm@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests:
Research Interests:

Chris LeGrow
Professor
Ph.D., Ohio University
Office: HH 331B
Phone: (304) 696-2780
E-Mail: legrow@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Statistics, Experimental Psychology, Paranormal Phenomena, Personnel Psychology, Industrial-Organizational Psychology, Capstone Seminar, I/O Practicum/Internship
Research Interests: Teaching of I/O Psychology, Research Ethics, Program Evaluation, Evaluation of Paranormal Evidence, Focus Groups, Service Learning

Tom Linz
Clinical MA Program Coordinator
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: MUGC 107 and HH 223
Phone: (304) 696-2774
E-Mail: tlinz@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Child Assessment, Current Models of Psychotherapy, Biologic Basis of Behavior, Research Seminar, MA Internship, and MA Practicum
Research Interests: Attention and Organization

Pamela Mulder
Professor
Ph.D., California School of Professional Psychology
Office: HH 226
Phone: (304) 696-2770
E-Mail: mulder@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Adult Assessment, Cross Cultural, Abnormal Personality
Research Interests: Rural Populations, Behavioral Health

Paige Muellerleile
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Syracuse University
Office: HH 331-C
Phone: (304) 696-2771
E-Mail: muellerleile@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: General Psychology, Health Psychology, Elementary Behavioral Statistics, Intermediate Behavioral Statistics, Clinical Research Methods, Psychometrics, Psychology of Women and Gender, Social Psychology, Advanced Social Psychology, Human Sexual Behavior, Clinical Behavioral Health
Research Interests: Violence against women, judgment and risk behavior, meta-analysis, and community health

David Pittenger
Interim Associate Vice President
Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: OM 200
Phone: (304) 696-2350
E-Mail: pittengerd@marshall.edu

Sandra Stroebel
Program Coordinator, School Psychology
Ph.D.
Office: Graduate College Building 110
Phone: 304-746-2032
E-mail: stroebel@marshall.edu

Please see the School Psychology home page for more information:
www.marshall.edu/graduate/programs.school-psychology/

Jennifer Tiano
Associate Professor
Ph.D., West Virginia University
Office: HH 331-D
Phone: (304) 696-2786
E-Mail: tiano@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Differential Diagnosis and Treatment Planning, Child and Family Diagnosis and Therapy, Psychotherapy Sequence I and II, Abnormal Psychology, Clinic Supervision, Capstone
Research Interests: Parent and Teacher Training, Behavior Management with Young Children, Impact of Appalachian Culture on Parent Training

 

Marty Amerikaner
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Florida
Email: amerikan@marshall.edu

Steven Mewaldt
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Iowa
E-Mail: mewaldt@marshall.edu

Administrative Staff

Nancy Tresch-Reneau
Program Support
Administrative Secretary, Sr.
Office: HH 328
Phone: (304) 696-6446
E-Mail: tresch@marshall.edu
Research Interests: Military history, Appalachian history, Civil War, history of genocide

Tracy Eubank
Program Support 
Program Assistant III
Office: HH 326
Phone: (304) 696-2785
E-Mail: eubank5@marshall.edu
Teaching Interests: Adult Education, Business

*HH = Harris Hall – Huntington *OM  = Old Main  – Huntington

*MUGC = Marshall University Graduate College – South Charleston