MEMBERS PRESENT: Abramson, Blankenship, Desai, Stone, Hall, Karickhoff, Lowry, Marley, Turner, Anthony, Jackson, Miller, Baker, Dennison, Gross, Rotter, Shaver, Taft, Woodward, Doyle, Perry, Brown, Wildman, Finver, Guyer, Larsen, Simmons, Walker, D avis, Aluthge, Hubbard, Pupplo-Cody, parliamentarian, Denman; and several guests.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Sottile, Stern, Sporny, Duke, Gripshover, Perkins, Dolmetsch, Merritt Damron, Cowell, Januszkiewicz, Green, Beaver, Reichenbecher, Stotts, Tarter, Dumke, Valluri, and Wilson.

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Faculty Senate President Elaine Baker. Minutes of the April 24, 1997 meeting were approved as distributed.


All of the recommendations of the April meeting have been approved with the exception of the merit monies recommendation. Because of the legal implications of conflicting with Senate Bill 547, it was disapproved; however, if the new Senate wants to pursue this issue next year, perhaps it can be addressed next fall prior to the next legislative session.

Baker explained the handouts at each Senator's place, noting the faculty data compilation; she also circulated a list of new positions, indicating the department and persons names associated with each.

In recognition of each Senator's service for the past two years, Baker gave each a certificate and also recognized the Senate officers and the Senate Office assistant. Four senators who have served 8 years and who are not eligible for reelection were also recognized: Caroline Perkins, Bryan Larsen, Ken Guyer, and Susan Jackson.

At last weeks meeting of the new Senate, the following officers were elected: Corley Dennison, President; Joe Stone, Vice-President; and Ben Miller, Secretary. Other members of the Executive Committee are Tom Wilson, Carol Perry, Barb Davis, Bill Mar ley, Lisle Brown, and Steve Cody. One of the actions of the new Senate included making provisions for members of the Graduate College to have representation in the Senate for the 1997-98 school year, including the Executive Committee and other standing c ommittees.


Dr. Gilley reported that a new strategic plan for Marshall University is due November 1. A committee had been formed and they will be working over the summer so that a draft will be ready early fall for discussion and input. He also stated that it has been a productive year, wished the Senators a good summer, and looks forward to working with the new Senate next fall.


Bert Gross reported that the Board of Trustees has passed Series 36, including the titles for librarians as recommended at our last meeting. He also noted that adoption of the document will require revisions concerning the appeals process.

SR-96-97-(73) 139 SCWC): To approve student course evaluation in every course with a common core of questions for all courses. Dennison moved and it was seconded to approve. Dr. Sarah Denman, Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Studen t Government representatives Matt Glover and Nawar Shora spoke for this recommendation. After a lengthy discussion and question and answer session, Gross moved to amend by substituting the resolution from the Faculty Personnel Committee regarding course evaluation [SR-96-97-(73) 139 (FPC)]. After more discussion, the amendment passed; subsequently, the motion as amended passed.

SR-96-97-(74) 140 (PFPC): Baker stated that this recommendation has been withdrawn as the problem has been resolved another way.

SR-96-97-(75) 141 (FPC): To approve the establishment of the Marshall University Dependent Employee Scholarship. Abramson moved and it was seconded to approve. Motion carried.

SR-96-97-(76) 142 (PFPC): To approve graduate assistants requesting alternate parking on those lots designated for faculty which are not filled. Gross moved and it was seconded to approve. After various questions regarding this recommendation , Gross moved that it go back to committee for clarification. Motion seconded and carried.

SR-96-97-(77) 143, (78) 144, and (81-92) 147-158: To approve course additions, changes and deletions as recommended by the Curriculum Committee and the Graduate Committee (see agenda for specific courses). Guyer moved and it was seconded to approve; motion carried.

SR-96-97-(79) 145 (APC): To approve the development of a new B.A. degree in Multidisciplinary Studies. Pupplo-Cody moved and it was seconded to approve. After some discussion including suggestions to consider as degree is being formulat ed, the motion passed.

SR-96-97-(80) 146 (GR): To approve amending the academic appeals process of the Marshall University Graduate Catalog. Pupplo-Cody moved and it was seconded to approve; motion carried.

SR-96-97-(93) 159 (GR): To approve admissions and academic policies for Marshall University Graduate College. Recommendation died for lack of a motion.

SR-96-97-(94) 160)(GR): To approve a change in title of the graduate program for the Elizabeth McDowell Lewis College of Business. Abramson moved and it was seconded to approve; motion carried.


Bob Sawrey, faculty representative for NCAA, spoke regarding the student athlete program. Almost a third of the student athletes have a 3.0 GPA, and there has been an improvement in overall GPA in every sports program for the last 4 years. The g raduation rate for MU student athletes is 47% compared to 35% for the university. Nationally, there is a 59% graduation rate for student athletes, so Marshall University has a way to go to reach the national average. Sawrey also asked for support from t he faculty in assuring that the attendance policy stated in the NCAA policy manual is upheld (copy attached).

Before adjourning Elaine was thanked for her capable leadership as Faculty Senate President and was presented with a gift from the Senate.

Meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kay Wildman, Secretary
Marshall University Faculty Senate


Elaine Baker, President
Marshall University Faculty Senate

Dr. J. Wade Gilley, President
Marshall University