MEMBERS PRESENT: Abramson, Blankenship, Stone, Sottile, Hall, Karickhoff, Lowry, Marley, Stern, Turner, Anthony, Jackson, Miller, Cornfeld, Baker, Dennison, Duke, Gripshover, Gross, Perkins, Rotter, Shaver, Dolmetsch, Taft, Woodward, Doyle, Perry, Brown, Wildman, Finver, Green, Guyer, Januszkiewicz, Larsen, Simmons, Walker, Davis, Stotts, Tarter, Aluthge, Hubbard, May, Pupplo-Cody, Valluri, Wilson, parliamentarian, Denman; and several guests.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Desai, Merritt-Damron, Cowell, Beaver, and Reichenbecher.

The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m. by Faculty Senate President Elaine Baker. She welcomed everyone back for the new school year and introduced the following new Senators: James Sottile, College of Education; Mike Cornfeld, College of Fine Arts ; Chris Dolmetsch, College of Liberal Arts; Don Tarter, College of Science; Sam Januszkiewicz and Bonnie Beaver, School of Medicine. The minutes of the May 16, 1996 meeting were approved as distributed.


---Staff Council's Financial Affairs - Howard R. D. Gordon
Staff Council's Legislative Affairs - Dennis Lebec
Staff Council's Physical Environment - Edward Scheiner
---Committee on Inter-Institutional Cooperation - Marty Amerikaner

---Committee on Parking Violations Appeals Board - Pattie Walker
---H.E.L.P. Program's Oversight Committee - Marianna Footo-Linz
---Regents BA Oversight Committee - Michael Cornfeld


The President had no additional information to report since the general faculty meeting last week.

Jan Fox, Asst. V.P. for Information Technology, Josephine Fidler, Director of University Libraries, and Andy Brann, Head of Technical Services in the library presented information regarding the expanded scope of information retrieval and the a dditional services available once the new facility is completed. Even though Morrow Library will still accommodate three library units as well as a large segment of the physical collection, the whole "library," regardless of physical location, will becom e a strategic hub for the region--it is a much broader concept than just the Marshall campus. The on-line catalog will be web-accessible and many additional pieces can be linked to the web.

A new document delivery project is currently underway which includes the transmission of scanned images of articles as well as electronic access to periodicals not held at Marshall.

Allan Stern moved and it was seconded to extend the discussion 10 minutes. Motion carried.

Several questions about future costs of electronic access, the printing of retrieved articles and parking for the new facility were asked. In general, although it's hard to predict future costs in a rapidly-changing publishing world, paper formats wi ll almost certainly cost more than electronic access because of the shift to the electronic medium. With regard to parking, it was noted that the university is actively pursuing land acquisition nearby for parking. (Today's report can be viewed on the S enate home page by retrieving the Agenda for the meeting.)


Bert Gross made a special presentation of a plaque to Caroline Perkins for her past service and contributions as former ACF representative. With regard to + and - grades, WVU has asked for a year's postponement to further study the issue; that re quest was granted. A faculty proposal has been made to the Board of Regents to provide all faculty with electronic access in their offices as well as the appropriate computer training. Bert noted what a formidable task it is to just get a grasp on our o wn campus as to what our current level of faculty access is.

After the Board meeting on October 11, a final draft of Policy Bulletin 36 revisions will be distributed to campuses for comment and any suggested modifications. The Faculty Personnel Committee will be asked to review the document, and discussion by the Faculty Senate itself is encouraged so that areas of concern can be addressed and acted upon.

Caroline Perkins moved and it was seconded to extend the discussion for an additional 5 minutes. Motion carried. The removal of faculty from the grievance process is a big concern that was discussed briefly and specifically noted for f uture discussion leading to a faculty resolution.


Baker called for any volunteers for liaison senator for either the Athletic Committee or the Academic Planning Committee. Ben Miller volunteered for the Athletic Committee; Baker will make some persuasive phone calls for the other vacancy.

SR-96-97-(1) 67 (LA): To approve recommendation that the Faculty Senate continue to support legislation which is designed to bring TIAA-CREF benefits into parity with the new Defined Contribution State Teacher's Retirement System. Dolmets ch moved and it was seconded to accept. Gross moved to amend by adding the following: The Legislative Affairs Committee shall communicate this position to candidates for the State Senate and House of Delegates from Cabell and Wayne counties and ask them to endorse the proposal. The Legislative Affairs Committee shall provide a report to the Senate at the October 31, 1996 meeting indicating which candidates support the proposal, which candidates oppose the proposal, and which candidates have fa iled to respond. Amendment seconded and carried. Motion as amended carried.

SR-96-97-(2) 68 (LA): To approve the recommendation that the Faculty Senate continue to support legislation which will amend Article Six, Section Thirteen of the state constitution to allow employees of the state higher education system the r ight to serve in the legislature. Ken Guyer moved and it was seconded to accept. Gross moved to amend by adding the same amendment as in the previous motion. Amendment carried; the motion carried as amended.


---Gubernatorial candidates are being asked to come speak to the Senate.
---Mission statement will be reviewed.
---Discussion and/or revisions to Policy Bulletin 36.
---It was asked that various religious holidays be honored and that affected students be allowed to make up any work missed.

Meeting adjourned at 5:35 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,

Kay Wildman, Secretary
Marshall University Faculty Senate


Elaine Baker, President
Marshall University Faculty Senate

Dr. J. Wade Gilley, President
Marshall University