MEMBERS PRESENT: Joseph Stone, Joe Abramson, Suzanne Desai, Blaker Bolling, Glenda Lowry (Secretary), Bart Cagle, Clara Reese, James Sottile (Vice-President), Rainey Duke, Cheryl Brown, Carlos Lopez, Elaine Baker, Jonathan Cox, Jack Cirillo, Larry Stickler, Stan Sporny, Laura Adkins, Michael Castellani, Matt Carlton, Jeff May, Rebecca Appleton, Bruce Brown, Margaret Rotter, Barbara Davis, Pamela Ford, Wendy Moorhead, Gerald Doyle, Mildred Battle, Donna Donathan, John Szarek, Tom Linz, Bill Rhoten, Blake Sypher, Robert Williams, Kenneth Guyer, Beverly Delidow, Chuck Bailey, Dan Hollis, and Herbert Tesser.

MEMBERS ABSENT: Maudie Karickhoff, Laura Wyant, Nick Freidin, Kristine Greenwood, Pam Mulder, William Westbrook, Seth Bush, Brian Morgan, Dan Evans, Denise Landry, Dennis Moritz, Darshana Shah, Rudy Wang, David Chaffin, and Joyce Meikamp. 

PARLIAMENTARIAN: Dallas Brozik present. 

GUESTS: Allan Stern, Frances Hensley, Lynne Welch, Bill Pierson, Sam Damron, Larry Froehlich, Audrey Kaiser, Ben Miller, Steve Hensley, Hal Shaver, Michael McGuffey, and two others that I could not read their signature. 

The meeting was called to order at 4:05 p.m. by President Donathan. 

President Donathan began the meeting with a few announcements:

1.         APPROVAL OF MINUTES – MARCH 29, 2001: 

A correction was made to Item 3 at the first bulleted area in the last sentence: It is Dr. Angel’s understanding that after the first review Marshall will fall in the third first category and he would like to thank all those involved. 

The minutes were approved as amended. 

President Donathan suspended the agenda and moved to Items 3 and 4. 

2.                  ANNOUNCEMENTS: 


Dr. Angel was out-of-town. No report given. 

4.                  ACF REPORT: 

Ben Miller began with a Thank You to President Donathan for his invitation to the meeting with Chancellor Mullen and the West Virginia Faculty Senate Presidents. He then reported on that meeting as it pertained to ACF concerns—faculty involvement in the decision making process, tenure, the local administration, and the central office. 

He then reported that President Angel, Dr. Sarah Denman, and Dr. Vicki Riley met with the Policy Commission on Tuesday, April 24, 2001 to present the University Compact. Marshall’s Compact was fully accepted. 

He reminded the Senate that it is acceptable for them to delegate an alternate ACF representative in the event that he is not available to attend meetings. The alternate will have full voting privileges. He stated that it is important to have faculty representation on the Institutional Board of Governors, and to perhaps contact our legislators to increase the number of representatives as the local board will have more control over what happens at Marshall as the Policy Commission will be dealing with the bigger state-wide issues. 

He will have no report for the May 10, 2001 meeting. 

President Donathan suspended the agenda and moved to Item 2. 

2.                  ANNOUNCEMENTS: 

o       President Angel has approved the following recommendations: SR-00-01-(25) 66R2 (SCWC), SR-00-01-(28) 69R (CC), SR-00-01-(31) 72 (CC), SR-00-01-(32) 73 (CC), SR-00-01-(33) 74 (CC), SR-00-01-(34) 75 (CC), SR-00-01-(35) 76 (CC), SR-00-01-(36) 77 (CC), and SR-00-01-(37) 78 (PFPC).

o       The last Faculty Senate meeting will be held Thursday, May 10, 2001, beginning at 10:00 a.m. in the MSC Alumni Lounge. 


SR-00-01-(36) 77R (CC): Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the following colleges and /or schools: ENGR 219 in the College of Information Technology & Engineering. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED. 

SR-00-01-(38) 79 (BAPC): Recommends that amendments to the Student Handbook should be made which clarify the procedures to be followed in the academic appeals process. The recommended revisions would more precisely outline the rights and responsibilities of faculty in the appeals processes. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED. 

SR-00-01-(39) 80 (FPC): Recommends that beginning with the 2001-2002 year, Biomedical Sciences Faculty salaries as a percentage of the salaries paid at peer institutions shall be brought in line with the corresponding figure for Marshall University faculty as a whole. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED. 

SR-00-01-(40) 81 (CC): Recommends approval of the listed COURSE ADDITIONS in the following colleges and/or schools: College of Liberal Arts; College of Science; College of Fine Arts; and the College of Education & Human Services. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED. 

SR-00-01-(41) 82 (CC): Recommends approval of the listed COURSE CHANGES for the following colleges and/or schools: College of Nursing & Health Professions; College of Education & Human Services; and the College of Fine Arts. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED. 

SR-00-01-(42) 83 (CC): Recommends approval of the listed COURSE CHANGES for the following colleges and/or schools: College of Science and the College of Liberal Arts. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED.  

6.                  STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS: 

Each liaison, except as noted, reported to-date on their respective committee. 

 Physical Facilities & Planning                               Stan Sporny
                Research                                                             Seth Bush (absent, no report given)
                Student Conduct & Welfare                                Kris Greenwood (absent, no report given)
                University Functions                                            Margaret Rotter

7.                  REQUEST TO SPEAK TO THE SENATE: 

Dr. Cheryl Brown stated that she had two items to discuss. 

One was further clarification on the number of classrooms on campus. As stated at the March 29, 2001 meeting—there are 90 classrooms on campus. She did some research and discovered that actually there are 85 rooms classified as general purpose and 134 rooms classified as special purpose. 

The other item related to the recent removal of a COLA faculty member who was removed from a closed meeting for supposedly making numerous interruptions—Is there no freedom of speech? She made a motion that an ad hoc committee be appointed to re-establish freedom of speech. The motion was seconded. During discussing the motion was amended to allow the Faculty Senate President to appoint the members of the committee. This motion was seconded and approved. During discussion the motion was amended as to the number of members for this committee. This motion was seconded and approved. The full motion reads: An ad hoc committee will be formed for the purpose of examining freedom of expression on campus. The Faculty Senate President will appoint one (1) faculty member from each college as members to this committee. MOVED, SECONDED, AND APPROVED 

Vice-President Sottile made a motion to suspend the agenda so that Donna Donathan could speak from the floor. Seconded and approved. 

President Donathan spoke about the recent e-mail distribution of information relating to the parking fee increase that will affect students, faculty and staff. A map outlining the campus areas to be involved was distributed. A question and answer period followed. President Donathan made a list of the questions she could not answer. She will try to have the answers at the next meeting. 


            There were none. 

The meeting adjourned at approximately 5:09 p.m.