Faculty Personnel Committee

At the request of the University President or Faculty Senate Chair, using appropriate Series/Rules and the 1986 AAUP Recommended Institutional Regulations on Academic Freedom and Tenure as guidelines, the committee shall write, alter, or rewrite policies relating to academic rank, salary, tenure, promotion, teaching and non-teaching load, retirement, sabbatical, and other matters which affect the well-being of faculty. The Faculty Personnel Committee shall study and evaluate policies and procedures relating to the hiring of faculty, which includes a yearly review of salaries. The committee shall act as an advisory panel for all faculty members initiating grievances in accordance with Series 9. The committee shall address all faculty grievances except those involving dismissal, termination due to reduction of or discontinuance of an existing program, termination due to financial exigency, or a faculty member desiring to appeal a decision of the University President on non-retention or promotion. The committee shall refer to the Hearing Committee those grievances involving a number of persons. Chapter 29B. Freedom of Information Act of the West Virginia code provides that "Every person has a right to inspect or copy any public record for a public body in this state, except as otherwise expressly provided by Section Four of this article. Under Exceptions in Section Four the code reads, "Information of a personal nature such as that kept in a personal, medical, or similar file, if the public disclosure thereof would constitute an unreasonable invasion of privacy... When the committee handles matters of a personal nature, it will not share its findings with the Faculty Senate. Hence, in this function it remains exempt from those conditions outlined under the section entitled "Committee-Senate Relationship" in this document.



Dan Holbrook (Chair) History COLA 2016
Joy Cline (Recording Secretary) Nursing COHP 2016
Carrie Childers Liaison FS 2016
Gretchen Beach IT-OLL ULIB 2015
Wendell Dobbs Music CAM 2015
Rick McCormick Engineering CITE 2015
Beverly Delidow Biochemistry SOM 2015
John Schloss Pharmaceutical Science SOP 2015
Min Kook Kim Integrated Science & Technology COS 2015
Ruth Ann Murphy Curriculum & Instruction COEPD 2015
Anil Gurung Management, Marketing, & MIS COB 2015

Elizabeth (Beth) Campbell MU Advisory Council of Faculty
Marty Amerikaner Faculty Representative to the MU Board of Governors