42nd Memorial Fountain Ceremony

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – “From Ashes We Rose” is the greatest quote used to describe remembering the 75 victims in the Marshall University plane crash.

The 42nd Memorial Fountain Ceremony will be sponsored by the Marshall University’s Student Government Association.

The service will take place on Marshall University’s campus at the Memorial Fountain, in front of the Memorial Student Center on Wednesday Nov. 14, at 12p.m.

Chief of Staff for Student Government Association, Adam Fridley said many invitations have been extended out to West Virginia’s political leaders.

“State Senator, Joe Manchin; State Representatives Nick Rahall and Shelley Moore Capito, and Governor Earl Ray Tomblin have all been notified and invited to attend this years Memorial Fountain Ceremony,” Fridley says.

Fridley says the long list of speakers at the 42nd Memorial Fountain Ceremony will make for a successful memorial for the victims in the 1970 plane crash.

Speakers at the ceremony include: University President, Stephen J. Kopp; Student Body President, Ray Harrell; members of the, “Young Thundering Herd”; Mr. Moe Lajterman; Athletic Director Mike Hamrick; Head football coach, Doc Holiday; Alumni Board President, Bernie Coston; and many more.

Student Body President, Ray Harrell is pleased to say that Mr. Moe Lajterman will be giving the keynote address at the Memorial Fountain Ceremony this year.

The Memorial Fountain will be marked by the laying of the wreath, 75 roses (with reading of the names of those lost in the plane crash), and the silencing of the fountain.