West Virginia Space Grant Consortium

Marshall University Chapter

The NASA West Virginia Space Grant Consortium (WVSGC) includes five West Virginia Universities and seven West Virginia Colleges. West Virginia University is the lead institution. Operations of the Consortium are governed by a set of "Bylaws" and a Board of Directors consisting of one member from each affiliate. WVSGC's mission is to develop a statewide infrastructure that will enhance the state’s competitiveness in aerospace research, education, and industrial activities, in part through support of research efforts of Consortium faculty and students in area of interest to NASA.

The Marshall University Chapter of the NASA West Virginia Space Grant Consortium is overseen by an Advisory Committee with representatives from participating departments.

Committee members: 

Faculty member Department Office e-mail                       
Marcia Harrison Biological Sciences BBSC241J harrison@marshall.edu 
Anne Axel Biological Sciences S 260 axel@marshall.edu 
Mike Norton Chemistry BBSC241K norton@marshall.edu 
Paulus Wahjudi Computer Science GH 205A wahjudi@marshall.edu
Aley El-Shazly Geology S131 elshazly@marshall.edu
Menashi Cohenford Integrated Sci. & Tech. ML111 cohenford@marshall.edu 
Evelyn Pupplo-Cody Mathematics ML110 pupploco@marshall.edu 
Maria Babiuc-Hamilton Physics/Physical Sci. S257 babiuc@marshall.edu
Paige Muellerleile Psychology HH331D muellerleile@marshall.edu
Jian Liu Safety CB 212 liuji@marshall.edu

Supported Programs:

NASA SPACE GRANT STUDENT FELLOWSHIPS: $1,000 scholarships are available for undergraduate students interested in a career in science, mathematics, health care, engineering, science education, social science or working on a NASA related science or teaching research project. Deadline: Sept. 22, 2014. Letters of recommendation are due by Oct. 3, 2013 [tentative]

Faculty travel Awards: Up to $1,000 to support travel for full-time tenure track faculty in the College of Science, College of Liberal Arts, or College of Information Technology and Engineering.   Total budget may not exceed $2,000 ($1000 from the Consortium with a $1000 match). Deadline: Sept. 22, 2014.

 

 *At Least 25% of the Space Grant Scholarships must Be Distributed to women, minorities, or economically disadvantaged students.  Minorities include: African-American, American Indian, Asian, Hispanic, or Pacific Islander.