Med school faculty among inductees of Alpha Omega Alpha

Two faculty members are among 10 individuals with the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine who are being inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the nation’s medical honorary.

Dr. Farouk H. Abadir,  from the Department of Anesthesiology at Cabell Huntington Hospital and Dr. Felix H. Cheung, from the Department of Orthopaedics have been selected for the honor.

The inductees also include medical students, resident physicians and an alumnus, each selected based on academic achievements and contributions to medicine.

“This is a significant honor for everyone,” said Dr. Marie C. Veitia, associate dean of student affairs.  “Scholastic achievement is one of the top criteria for nomination, but other areas, including leadership qualities, ethical standards, and service to school and community also figure prominently in the selection process.”

The student inductees are as follows:

  • Saqib R. Ahmed,  Class of 2014
  • Zubair A. Ansari, Class of 2014
  • Joshua F. Hendrix, Class of 2014
  • Sammy  Hodroge, Class of 2014
  • Kimberly N. Weaver, Class of 2014

In addition to the faculty and students selected for the honor, the following medical residents are being honored:

  • Whitney A. Boggs, M.D., Department of Family Medicine
  • David D. Francke, M.D. , Department of Internal Medicine

Dr. Gary D. Cremeans, an alumnus from the Class of 1996, will also be inducted.

The inductees will be honored at a banquet Thursday, April 18.


Dr. Farouk Abadir (left) and Dr. Felix Cheung (right) will be inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha, the national medical honorary.