Schray named finalist for Professor of the Year

KaterynaSchray_Dec2013Dr. Kateryna Schray, professor of English, has been named a finalist in the Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia’s “Professor of the Year” award this year. The winner of the award will be announced in March.

Last month, Schray was the featured speaker at Marshall’s winter commencement. Earlier in the year, she received the Charles E. Hedrick Outstanding Faculty Award winner for 2012-2013. That award is named in honor of Charles Hedrick’s father, Charles E. Hedrick, a former history professor and later Chairman of the Graduate Council, and one of the founders of Marshall’s graduate program.

Schray has been at Marshall since 1996, when she was hired as an assistant professor of English.

“Dr. Schray is, quite simply, an exemplary teacher,” said John Van Kirk, also an English professor at Marshall. “Dr. Schray is one of those rare people who can shine brilliantly both in the classroom and on the page, an innovative and truly inspiring teacher and a scholar of the first rank.”

Schray describes her teaching philosophy as “embarrassingly simple: provide students with a supportive learning environment, identify and build on their strengths, and make each person an active participant in his/her own education, all the while remembering that learning is inherently joyful.”

Dr. Jane Hill, chair of the department of English, said she has “never had a colleague who more vividly and completely embodies the ideals of our profession.””Dr. Schray’s reputation as a teacher is, quite literally, national in scope,” Hill said.

“From the moment she started work on Marshall’s campus, she has established a record of outstanding scholarship, teaching and service, and maintained the excellence in all these areas consistently over all the years she has been here – an extraordinary achievement,” said English Professor Shirley Lumpkin.

Schray previously received the Pickens-Queen Excellence in Teaching Award in 2001and the Reynolds Outstanding Teaching Award in 2009.