Reminder: weekend event to support domestic violence shelter, Women’s Studies


MasqueradePartyFlyerThe  Women’s Studies Masquerade Ball and Silent Auction will take place from 6:30 to 11 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 1, in the Don Morris Room of the Memorial Student Center.

Proceeds from the event will go towards supporting the Women’s Studies program and SAFE, Inc., a domestic violence shelter serving McDowell, Mercer and Wyoming counties in West Virginia.

“We encourage our guests to come in costume or to come in formal wear and a mask,” said Dr. Jill M. Treftz, assistant professor of English.. “We will also have some masks available at the party.  We welcome community involvement and hope that members of the entire Huntington community will help us to make this event a success.”

Tickets cost $15 for students and $25 for non-students, and must be purchased in advance. Included in the ticket price is access to an open wine bar for those over 21, a variety of non-alcoholic beverages, assorted snacks and desserts and a chance to win door prizes.

Donors for the silent auction include Blenko Glass, Le Bistro, Bottle & Wedge, Glenn’s Sporting Goods, Paula Vega Cupcakes, Pottery Place and the Pullman Square Starbucks, along with a number of other local businesses and individuals.

Tickets can be purchased from Treftz (treftz@marshall.edu) in Corbly Hall 312; Dr. Robin Conley (conleyr@marshall.edu) in Smith Hall 740B; Dr. Dawn Howerton (howertond@marshall.edu) in Harris Hall 305; Dr. Laura Michele Diener (diener@marshall.edu) in Harris Hall 107; Dr. Zelideth Rivas (rivasz@marshall.edu) in Smith Hall 743 or Leslee Browning (browning108@marshall.edu) in Old Main 357.