School of Pharmacy welcomes Class of 2019

The School of Pharmacy officially welcomed the class of 2019 on Friday, Aug. 14, with a traditional White Coat Ceremony signifying the beginning of their pharmacy education.

The entrance of this class brings the school of pharmacy to its total capacity with four classes.

The featured keynote speaker for the event was state Sen. Robert H. Plymale, who has served for several decades in the West Virginia Legislature.

Other speakers included Dr. Kevin Yingling, dean of the School of Pharmacy; Dr. H. Glenn Anderson Jr., associate dean of the school; Dr. Kimberly Broedel-Zaugg, chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice, Administration and Research; Dr. Faruk Khan, chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Science and Research; Del. Don Perdue, a member of the West Virginia House of Delegates and a pharmacist, and Dr. Josh Russell, CVS Caremark.

Interesting statistics about the Class of 2019 include the following:

  • 47 percent of the 82-member class are West Virginia residents;
  • Nonresident students are from 11 states, including Arizona, California, Texas and Florida;
  • 44 percent are female;
  • 34 students were Marshall undergraduates.