March 12, 2014


Click on headline to read entire article.

  • Marshall professor named West Virginia Professor of the Year

    Dr. Kateryna Schray received the 2013 Professor of the Year award last night from the Faculty Merit Foundation during a banquet held in the Great Hall of the Culture Center in Charleston. The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia each year honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university. The award winner receives a $10,000 cash prize, with smaller awards to the other finalists. The Professor of the Year award is presented with financial support from United Bank. According to Provost and Senior Vice President Dr. Gayle Ormiston, “Dr. Schray is well recognized for her gift of connecting ...
  • Reminder: University community to review progress to date on Marshall 20/20 at March 25 retreat

    Members of the Marshall community who have been working on any aspect of the Marshall 20/20 strategic planning project will be attending an all-day retreat Tuesday, March 25, at the Heritage Farm Museum and Village in Huntington. Mary Ellen Heuton, senior vice president of finance/chief financial officer, who is among the planners of the retreat, said that this is a follow up to the Oct. 11 leadership retreat. It will be a time for members of the university’s Board of Governors, the Marshall 20/20 planning group, and the various action teams to address the work completed to date, focus on challenges ...
  • Women’s Studies book club to present “The Truly Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” March 26 and 27

    Marshall University’s women’s studies program will host two events connected with the New York Times bestselling book, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Wednesday, March 26, and Thursday, March 27, on Marshall’s Huntington campus. The book, written by Rebecca Skloot, is about Henrietta Lacks, an African American mother of five, who died of cancer in 1951. A sample of her cells was retained without her knowledge or consent. The cells were used in a number of scientific studies and made way for several important breakthroughs. Medical researchers discovered her cells, known as HeLa, possessed unexplainable immortal properties. Over the past 60 years, ...
  • Dave Smith named Employee of the Month

    Dave Smith, trades specialist in Physical Plant, has been named the Marshall University Employee of the Month for December, according to Michelle Brown Douglas, chair of the Employee of the Month Committee. Employed since October 2007, he was nominated by Eric Wallace. In his nomination, Wallace wrote:  “Dave works hard, cares about his job.  Always wants to do his best, no matter what the job is.  Very reliable and we could use more like him.” Smith was presented with a plaque and a check by President Stephen J. Kopp. ————— Photo: President Kopp (left) congratulates Employee of the Month Dave Smith.
  • In Memoriam: W. Fred Pauley

    Dr. William Frederick Pauley, professor of elementary and secondary education, died March 6 in South Charleston. Born in Charleston, W.Va., he graduated from Logan High School and went on to attend Marshall University, where he was a member of Zeta Beta Tau fraternity and active in Campus Crusade for Christ.  After earning  graduate degrees from Marshall and Tennessee Temple University, he received his Ph.D. from the University of Connecticut. Known for his easygoing spirit and his lighthearted personality, he enjoyed a wide variety of sporting events and tournaments, especially fishing and golf.  In addition, he was an avid runner who successfully completed ...
  • Foster Care Awareness subject of event tonight

    WomenConnect is hosting an awareness event about foster care in West Virginia at 6 p.m. tonight, March 12, in the Shawkey Dining Room in the Memorial Student Center. Presenters will address current issues within the foster-care system of West Virginia, according to Dr. Laura Michele Diener, assistant professor of history and one of the organizers of the event. They also will discuss opportunities for internships and careers, as well as potential projects for service learning courses. The National Association of Social Workers will have an information booth. Speakers will include Carrie Dawson, M.A., Public Relations Director at Mission WV Inc.;  Jessa Dingess, ...
  • South Charleston bookstore to close March 31

    The bookstore operation located in the administration building of the South Charleston campus will close effective April 1, according to Dr. Karen Kirtley, senior vice president for administration. The trends toward online textbook purchasing and rental, among other factors, have led to a marked decrease in customer traffic in the store, Kirtley said. After a thorough evaluation, it has been determined there is no longer enough demand to support a full-service bookstore in South Charleston. All bookstore services will be provided through the store on the Huntington campus. “Please be assured that the university and Follett are committed to making sure students will continue to have access ...
  • Health policy fellows honored by state senate

    Calling their service commendable, the West Virginia State Senate on March 6 adopted a resolution honoring School of Medicine resident physicians for their work at the Legislature providing physician resources through the Paul Ambrose Health Policy Fellowship Program. Dr. Kimberly R. Becher, a third-year resident from Sissonville, W.Va., Dr. Matthew Q. Christiansen, a first-year resident from Spencer, W.Va., and Dr. Kane A. Maiers, a third-year resident from Short Gap, W.Va., were honored by the resolution authored by Sen. Robert H. Plymale of Wayne County.The resolution also names Dr. Tracy Hendershot, MUSOM class of 2008, who served as the first Ambrose fellow. “Our ...
  • Winners of student pharmacist competition announced at MU School of Pharmacy

    Four second-year students in Marshall’s School of Pharmacy were named as winners in a patient education competition last week. The first-place winner, Sarah Dunaway from Greenup, Ky., will represent the school later this month at the American Pharmacists Association/Academy of Student Pharmacists national competition set for March 27-31 in Orlando, Fla. The remaining winners and their hometowns are as follows: 2nd place: (1st runner-up): Stephanie F. Walker, Auburndale, Fla. 3rd place (2nd runner-up): Megan R. DeLong, Louisa, Ky. 4th place (3rd runner-up): Daphne B. Hollingsworth, Gallipolis, Ohio This is the first time Marshall, which opened its school of pharmacy in 2012, has participated in the ...

The next issue of We Are…Marshall will be distributed March 26, 2014. Please send any materials for consideration to Pat Dickson by 5 p.m. Monday, March 24.