Marshall University Logo
Department/College Name

MU Home
Choose Option from Navigation Bar

Board of Governors

Minutes of January 19, 2005

Members Participating:

Ms. Letitia Chafin (telephonically), Ms. Verna Gibson, Mr. John Hess, Mr. Menis Ketchum, Ms. Virginia King, Mr. Brent Marsteller, General Harley Mooney, Mr. A. Michael Perry, Mr. Bob Shell, Mr. Bill Smith, Mr. Gary White, Mr. Joseph Williams, Ms. Sherri Noble, Dr. James Sottile, Mr. Seth Murphy

Members Absent:

Mr. Gary Adkins


Mr. Michael J. Farrell, Dr. Keith Spears, Dr. Charles McKown, Mr. Jim Schneider, Dr. Tony Szwilski, Mr. James Wolfe, Mr. George Carico, Mr. Mark Lewis, Dr. Dallas Brozik, Dr. Larry Stickler, Mr. Lance West, Mr. Herb Karlet, Mr. Michael McGuffey, Dr. Sarah Denman, Mr. Layton Cottrill, Mr. David Ice, Ms. Stephanie Neal, Mr. Bob Marcum, Dr. Vicki Riley





I.       Call to Order

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman A. Michael Perry. Judge Dan O’Hanlon administered the oath of office to newly appointed Board Member General H. F. Mooney Jr.

II.      Approval of Minutes

Mr. Murphy moved, seconded by Ms. Gibson, that the Board approve the minutes of the November 10, 2004, and December 17, 2004, Board meetings. Motion carried.

III.     Announcement and Information Items

A list of upcoming events was distributed. Mr. Perry announced that General Mooney would serve on the Finance Committee, and Ms. Gibson would assume the chair’s position on the Academic Affairs Committee.

IV.    President’s Report

Mr. Farrell distributed a document regarding “Performance Indicators” at Marshall.

Mr. Farrell outlined his goals for Marshall during his tenure as Interim President. Mr. Farrell discussed Marshall’s budget situation; enrollment figures and trends; and marketing plans for the University.

V.      CTC President’s Report

Dr. Riley discussed role MCTC plays in economic development in the region, and presented enrollment figures and goals.

VI.    CTC Marketing Presentation

Dr. Riley introduced Ms. Carol Morlachetta, a consultant who is developing the CTC marketing strategy. Ms. Morlachetta gave an overview of the CTC Marketing plan.

VII.   Presentation, Center for Environmental, Geotechnical and Applied Sciences

CEGAS Director, Dr. Tony Szwilski, presented an overview of CEGAS, including the center’s mission, background, five year goals, and contracts from 1999 to the present.

VIII. Committee of the Whole

a)       Presidential Search Committee

Board member Michael Farrell resigned from the Board in December, 2004, and assumed the position of interim president of Marshall. General Harley Mooney was appointed to the Board as Mr. Farrell’s replacement.

Mr. Perry moved, Mr. Ketchum seconded, that General Mooney serve on the Presidential Search Committee at Marshall. Motion carried.

IX.     Report of Committee Chairs

1)      Finance & Audit Committee

a) Auditor’s Financial Report for FY 2003-04. Ms. King moved that the Board accept the financial report, per the agenda item. Second by Mr. Ketchum. Motion carried.

b) Selection of Auditor for FY 04-05. Ms. King moved that the Board approve this agenda item. Seconded by Ms. Gibson. Motion carried.

2)       Academic Committee

a) Letter of intent to plan for MA in Latin. Dr. Denman presented information on this item. Mr. Shell moved that the Board approve this agenda item. Second by Ms. King. Motion carried.

b) Autism appointments. Mr. White moved that the Board approve the appointments as contained in the agenda item. Second by Ms. King. Motion carried.

3)        Medical School Committee

a) Mr. Shell and Dr. McKown commented on the committee meeting. Dr. McKown reported on the LCME Accreditation process.

4)      Athletic Committee

a) Mr. Ketchum gave an overview of issues discussed in committee.

5)      CTC Committee

a) MCTC Contractual Agreement and Indirect Cost Model. Mr. White moved that the Board approve this agenda item. Seconded by Mr. Shell. Motion carried.

b) Two Year Associates Program, St. Mary’s Nursing. Mr. Shell moved that the Board authorize Mr. White to draft a resolution, to be presented to the WVCTC Council, requesting the Associates Program with St. Mary’s remain under the authority of Marshall University. Seconded by Ms. King. Motion carried.

X.      Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.


Respectfully submitted,
Joseph Williams, Secretary


Site Maintained by President's Office. Copyright ©2006 Marshall University. All Rights Reserved.
Read Site Disclaimer for more information.
Marshall University - One John Marshall Drive - Huntington, WV 25755
Link to Electronic Directory Link to Contact Information Link to Campus Map Link to Site Index