Marshall University Logo
Department/College Name

MU Home
Choose Option from Navigation Bar

President's Office

Minutes of April 23, 2007

A meeting of the Marshall University Board of Governors was held on April 23, 2007, at the Marshall Student Center.

Members Present, in person:

Menis E. Ketchum, A. Michael Perry, Letitia Chafin, Sue Richardson, John Hess, General H. F. Mooney, Brent Marsteller, James Sottile, Sherri Noble, Virginia King, Verna Gibson, and Mike Farrell.

Members present,
by telephone:
Gary Adkins and Robert Shell. Members absent: Gary White and Chad Caldwell.
Others Present:

Presidents Kopp and Hayes, various staff members, Dean Hensley, Kristy Fueyo, Coach Donnie Jones, Mike Dunn, Clark Egnor, Christine Soulas, Provost Denman, Tammy Johnson, and other visitors.

I.       Call to Order

Chairman Ketchum announced a quorum was present and called the meeting to order.

II.       Minutes

The minutes of the January 24, 2007, February 9, 2007, and March 28, 2007 meetings were approved. It was noted that the remarks of President Hayes ordered to be attached to the February 9, 2007 minutes need to be attached to these minutes.

III.     Presentations

a) Chairman Ketchum introduced the new basketball coach, Donnie Jones, to the Board.

b) Mike Dunn made a presentation on behalf of the Classified Staff Council.

c) Clark Egnor and Christine Soulas made a presentation about the Gloria Brothers Study Abroad Program.

d) Provost Sarah Denman and Tammy Johnson gave a presentation about student recruitment and admissions.

e) Dean Hensley introduced Kristy Fueyo who will be the student board representative beginning July, 2007.

IV.     Community & Technical College Meeting

a) Interim President Hayes presented a report on numerous projects and initiatives of the College.

b) The Board approved by consensus the college’s 2006-2007 Program Review Recommendations.

c) Mike Perry moved, seconded by Mike Farrell, that the Community College budget and tuition be approved without the proposed tuition increase because this proposed increase was disallowed by the Community College Council. Mr. Perry further moved:

The Board resolves that the $68 tuition increase is needed for the operation of the Community College and that Dr. Hayes ask for reconsideration of the proposed $68 tuition increase accompanied by a detailed explanation of the need for the increase. The motion unanimously passed.

V.      University Meeting

President Kopp reported on the progress being made on the new engineering lab, Capstone Project, Research Institute, and other initiatives. He also presented a framed resolution thanking Verna Gibson for her work on the movie premiere.

1.       Finance, Audit & Investment Committee

The following resolutions were adopted by unanimous consensus:

a) The proposed University budget and tuition for fiscal year 2007-2008 is approved.

b) The quarterly financial report ending 12/31/06 was accepted.

c) The Executive Committee is delegated the authority to approve any bond refinancing for the Series 2001 A - $46,610,000 Revenue Bonds.

2.       Academic Committee The following resolutions were approved by consensus.

a) The new Spanish, M.A. Program;

b) The 2006-2007 program review recommendations.

3.       Medical School Committee

Chairman Marsteller gave a report on the progress being made by the medical school to self insure the school and reported on new signage needed at the medical school.

4.       Athletic Committee

Mike Farrell gave a detailed report on the condition of the Athletic Department, an update on football season ticket sales and the upcoming MU-WVU game.

VI.     Executive Session

The Board discussed and unanimously consented and approved that the Board go into Executive Session to discuss real estate purchases, leases, and personnel matters.

VII.   Post Executive Session

The following resolutions were adopted by unanimous consensus of the Board.

a) The easement requested by the Huntington Industrial Corporation over the existing driveway to its property at University Heights is approved.

b) The lease with CSX of its softball field is approved.

c) Betsy Bilheimev-Atwater and Jane E. Kopp are appointed to the Autism Training Center Advisory Board.

d) A purchase of the Porter parcel of land on the northeast corner of 5th Avenue and 20th Street is approved for $700,000.00. If this sum is not acceptable to the owner, the chair is authorized to institute eminent domain proceedings to acquire the land.

e) A new five year contract with President Kopp is approved. The President will receive an additional $2,000.00 per month which will be paid into a deferred compensation plan. The additional compensation of $2,000.00 per month in this new contract is subject to the approval of the Higher Education Policy Commission.

VIII.   Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Verna Gibson, Secretary


Site Maintained by President's Office. Copyright ©2006 Marshall University. All Rights Reserved.
Read Site Disclaimer for more information.
Marshall University - One John Marshall Drive - Huntington, WV 25755
Link to Electronic Directory Link to Contact Information Link to Campus Map Link to Site Index