Marshall University Logo
Department/College Name

MU Home
Choose Option from Navigation Bar

Board of Governors

Minutes of April 25, 2005

Members Participating:

Mr. Gary Adkins, Ms. Letitia Chafin, Ms. Verna Gibson (telephonically), Mr. John Hess, Mr. Menis Ketchum, Ms. Virginia King, Mr. Brent Marsteller, General Harley Mooney, Mr. A. Michael Perry, Mr. Gary White, Mr. Joseph Williams, Ms. Sherri Noble, Dr. James Sottile, Mr. William Smith, Mr. Seth Murphy

Members Absent:

Mr. Robert Shell, Jr.


Mr. Michael J. Farrell, Dr. Vicki Riley, Dr. Charles McKown, Mr. Jim Schneider, Ms. Stephanie Neal, Mr. Layton Cottrill, Dr. Sarah Denman, Dr. Keith Spears, Mr. Herb Karlet, Mr. Michael McGuffey, Mr. Dave Wellman, Dr. Larry Stickler, Dr. Dallas Brozik


I.        Call to Order

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman A. Michael Perry.

II.       Announcement and Information Items

A listing of announcements and upcoming events was distributed.

III.     President’s Report

Mr. Farrell reviewed the 2005 legislative session, outlining the key provisions of Senate Bill 603, and a synopsis of the higher education budget for FY 2006.

IV.     CTC President’s Report

Dr. Riley reported on the higher education budget for the coming fiscal year noting the state CTC system received a zero budget cut for FY 2006, and also received funds earmarked for peer equity.

V.      Proposed Tuition and Fees for Marshall University for Academic Year 2005-06

Mr. Farrell gave an overview of Marshall’s tuition and fee proposal for 2005-06. Following discussion, Mr. Marsteller moved that the board approve the proposed tuition and fees as listed in the agenda item, motion includes approving Elliott County, Kentucky, as a “metro county” for tuition and fee purposes at Marshall. Second by Ms. King. Motion carried.

VI.     Proposed Tuition and Fees for Marshall CTC for Academic Year 2005-06

Dr. Riley outlined Marshall CTC’s tuition and fee proposal.

Mr. White moved that the Board approve a zero increase in tuition and fees for Marshall’s CTC for academic year 2005-06, as stated in the agenda item. Second by General Mooney. Motion carried.

VII.    Proposed Facilities Building Addition and Renovation Amended to Include New Field Turf

Mr. Farrell presented an overview of this agenda item.

Mr. Marsteller moved that the Board approve the expenditures as listed in the agenda. Second by Mr. Hess. Motion carried.

VIII.  Possible Executive Session under the authority of WV Code § 6-9 A-4

a)      Commencement Speaker and Honorary Degrees

Mr. White moved that the Board enter into executive session, second by Mr. Adkins. Motion carried.

At the conclusion of executive session, the Board resumed full and open session.

General Mooney moved that the Board approve the individuals selected to be commencement speaker and receive honorary degrees during the 2005 Commencement. Second by Mr. Marsteller. Motion carried.

IX.    Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.


Respectfully submitted,
Joseph Williams, Secretary

Site Maintained by President's Office. Copyright ©2006 Marshall University. All Rights Reserved.
Read Site Disclaimer for more information.
Marshall University - One John Marshall Drive - Huntington, WV 25755
Link to Electronic Directory Link to Contact Information Link to Campus Map Link to Site Index