Marshall University Logo
Department/College Name

MU Home
Choose Option from Navigation Bar

President's Office

Minutes of June 27, 2007

A meeting of the Marshall University Board of Governors was held on June 27, 2007, at the Robert C. Byrd Institute (RCBI).

Members Present, in person:

Menis E. Ketchum, A. Michael Perry, Bob Shell, Gary Adkins, Letitia Chafin, Mike Farrell, John Hess, Virginia King, Brent Marsteller, General H.F. Mooney, Sue Richardson, Gary White, James Sottile, and Kristina Fueyo.

Members Present,
by telephone:
Verna Gibson
Members Absent:
Sherri Noble
Others Present:

Presidents Kopp and Hayes, Senior Vice Presidents, various staff members, Mike Dunn, Monica Brooks and other visitors from the University and Community.

I.        Call to Order

Chairman Ketchum announced a quorum was present and called the meeting to order.

II.        Minutes

The minutes of the April 23, 2007, May 9, 2007, and May 14, 2007 meetings were approved.

III.     Presentations

President Kopp introduced Ron Area, the new Foundation CEO.

Michael McGuffey reported on two potential policies that should be reviewed by the Board of Governors. They will be presented as an action item at the next board meeting. These policies are regarding Background Checks and Document Retention.

IV.     Community & Technical College Meeting

a) Interim President Hayes presented a report on numerous projects and initiatives of the College.

b) Mr. John Hess updated the board on the Presidential Search for the CTC. The search has gone well and it produced some excellent candidates. Three finalists were chosen and they have been invited to visit campus in the near future.

V.      University Meeting

President Kopp reported on the progress being made on the new engineering lab, Capstone Project, Research Institute, and other initiatives.

1.       Finance, Audit & Investment Committee

Chairman Perry presented the following informational items and resolutions:

a) Terry Fenger, Director of the Forensic Science Center, met with the Committee and discussed a possible building addition for the Center. Resolved, the President and Executive Committee shall investigate the feasibility of the proposed building. This was approved by unanimous consent;

b) The Quarterly Investment Report from Common Fund for the period ending March 31, 2007 was received;

c) The Quarterly Financial Report for the period ending March 31, 2007 was received;

d) Mr. Perry discussed the vacant Internal Audit position and the Committee’s choice of Perry Chaffin. This appointment was approved by unanimous consent;

e) Resolved, The $150.00 annual Student Activity Fee previously approved for the Recreation Center may increase by 3% each year. This is to satisfy bond covenants for the Recreation Center Project. This resolution was approved by unanimous consensus.

2.       Academic Committee

The following resolution and action was approved by unanimous consensus.

a) Resolved, that the Marshall University Board of Governors approve the Intent to Plan, B.A. in Early Childhood Education.

b) The nominee for the Autism Training Center Advisory Board, Terri L. Rodighiero, was approved.

3.        Medical School Committee

Chairman Marsteller gave a report on the progress being made by the medical school regarding enrollment.

4.       Athletic Committee

Mike Farrell gave a report on the proposed softball field, baseball field and tennis courts. Regarding tickets to the MU football games, the season tickets should be mailed out the first 10 days of July. There are still season tickets available at $148.00 each.

VI.      Election of Officers

Mr. Ketchum asked the nominating committee consisting of General Mooney, Brent Marsteller, and Mike Perry to report on their nomination of officers. The Nominating Committee has recommended Bob Shell as Chairman, Menis Ketchum as Vice Chairman, and Verna Gibson as Secretary for the year July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008. Mr. Perry moved that these Officers be approved, seconded by Virginia King. The motion passed unanimously.

VII.    Executive Session

The Board discussed and unanimously consented and approved that the Board go into Executive Session.

VII.   Post Executive Session

The following resolution was adopted by unanimous consensus of the Board.

a) Resolved, there is an approved multimillion dollar gift dedicated to the Engineering School which is being paid over a 5 year period. The donor desires to make an additional gift of $2.5 million, which is to be paid over 10 years. The gift will be structured as an irrevocable gift with an early demise benefit clause. Mr. Perry moved, seconded by Mr. Farrell that this additional gift paid over 10 years is approved.

VIII.  Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Verna Gibson, Secretary


Site Maintained by President's Office. Copyright ©2006 Marshall University. All Rights Reserved.
Read Site Disclaimer for more information.
Marshall University - One John Marshall Drive - Huntington, WV 25755
Link to Electronic Directory Link to Contact Information Link to Campus Map Link to Site Index