Marshall University Logo
Department/College Name

MU Home
Choose Option from Navigation Bar

President's Office

Minutes of August 22, 2007

A meeting of the Marshall University Board of Governors was held on August 22, 2007, at the Marshall Student Center.

Members Present, in person:

Bob Shell, Menis E. Ketchum, A. Michael Perry, Verna Gibson, Gary Adkins, Mike Farrell, Sue Richardson, Brent Marsteller, General H.F. Mooney, Monica Brooks,  Sherri Noble, Virginia King, James Sottile and Kristina Fueyo.

Members Present,
by telephone:
Members Absent:
Gary White, John Hess and Letitia Chafin.
Others Present:

Presidents Kopp and Hayes, Senior Vice Presidents, various staff members, Robert Plymale, and other visitors from the community and university.

I.       Call to Order

Chairman Pro Tem, Menis Ketchum, announced a quorum was present and called the meeting to order. Mr. Ketchum acted as chairman pursuant to Rule 5 of the BOG Rules of Order.

II.      Minutes

The minutes of the June 27, 2007 and July 20, 2007 were unanimously approved.

III.     Community & Technical College Meeting

a) Interim President Hayes presented a report on numerous projects and initiatives of the College.

b) Sue Richardson updated the Board on admissions and the MCTC contractual agreement for indirect costs.

c) Mike Perry spoke on the accomplishments of Interim President Hayes and moved that a resolution be prepared honoring President Hayes. President Hayes was given a standing ovation and the motion was approved by unanimous consensus.

IV.    University Meeting

President Kopp introduced Anita Lockridge and John Maher and reported on the progress being made on the university’s various projects.

1.       Finance, Audit & Investment Committee

Chairman Perry presented various informational items and the following resolution:

Resolved, that the Marshall University Board of Governors
approves the FY 07-08 Expense Allocation Contract for the
Finance, Administrative and Support Services between
Marshall University and Marshall Community & Technical

The resolution was adopted by unanimous consent. Mr. Perry introduced Perry Chaffin as the new internal auditor.

2.      Academic Committee

The following resolutions were approved by unanimous consensus.
Resolved, that the Marshall Board of Governors accept
the tuition waiver reports.

Resolved, that the Marshall University Board of Governors
approve the recommended changes to BOG Policy, No.

3.       Medical School Committee

Chairman Marsteller gave a report on the progress being made by the medical school regarding self insurance and signage.

4.       Athletic Committee

Mike Farrell gave a report on the upcoming MU vs. WVU football game ticket sales, and the work being done on the softball field and baseball field.

V.      Presentation

Bob Plymale gave a presentation on the RTI Institute.

VI.     Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.


Verna Gibson, Secretary 



Site Maintained by President's Office. Copyright ©2008 Marshall University. All Rights Reserved.
Read Site Disclaimer for more information.
Marshall University - One John Marshall Drive - Huntington, WV 25755
Link to Electronic Directory Link to Contact Information Link to Campus Map Link to Site Index