Marshall University Logo
Department/College Name

MU Home
Choose Option from Navigation Bar

Board of Governors

Minutes of November 12, 2003

Members Participating:

Mr. Mike Perry, Mrs. Virginia King, Mr. Brent Marsteller, Mr. Michael Safcsak, Dr. Steve Haid, Ms. Carol Hartley, Dr. Jim Sottile, Mr. Bob Shell, Mr. Menis Ketchum, Mr. Gary Adkins, Mr. Mike Farrell, Sherri Noble


Members Absent:

Mr. Tom Wilkerson, Mr. Joseph Williams, Mr. Gary White


Dr. Dan Angel, Mr. Jim Schneider, Mr. Layton Cottrill, Mr. Herb Karlet, Dr. Ed Grose, Dr. Sarah Denman, Dr. Keith Spears, Mr. Dave Wellman, Mr. Lance West, Mr. Michael McGuffey, Mr. Jack Toney, Mr. Ted Massey, Mr. Larry Barnhill, Dr. Vicki Riley, Dr. Barbara Tarter, Mr. Craig Grooms



Mr. Dennis Juran, Deloitte & Touche

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman Michael Perry.


I.       Approval of Minutes

Mr. Ketchum moved that the Board approve the minutes of the September 10, 2003, meeting.  Second by Mrs. King.  Motion carried.  Mr. Ketchum moved that the Board approve the minutes of the special Board Meeting held on October 24, 2003.  Second by Mr. Farrell.  Motion carried.

II.      Announcements/Information Items

A list of upcoming events was distributed to Board Members.  Also distributed was a list of future Board meeting dates.

III.    President’s Report

Dr. Angel discussed the state higher education budget, and distributed a handout documenting the effects on Marshall University of a potential 9.6% budget reduction for the coming fiscal year. Dr. Angel discussed the work of Marshall’s Budget Reduction Task Force, and distributed handouts with regard to tuition and fee increases nationwide.

Board members viewed a video presentation on the creation and selection of a new logo for Marshall University.

IV.     Community College Report

Dr. Riley reported that Marshall’s CTC has attained independent accreditation by North Central; gave a status report on The Advantage Valley CTC; and discussed Workforce Development funding for MUCTC.

V.      Report of Committee Chairs

1) Finance Committee

a)                  Audited Financial Report for FY 2002-03

Mrs. King reported on behalf of the Finance Committee.  Following discussion, Mr. Shell moved that the Board accept the financial report and management letter as contained in the agenda.  Second by Mr. Marsteller.  Motion carried.

b)                  Statement No. 39 of GASB, “Determining Whether Certain Organizations are Component Units.”

Mr. Dennis Juran of Deloitte & Touche, addressed this agenda item.  Discussion ensued; information item only.

c)                  Third Party Waiver Annual Report for FY 2002-03

Mrs. King reported on behalf of the Finance Committee.  Mr. Ketchum moved that the Board accept this report as per the agenda.  Second by Mr. Shell.  Motion carried.

2)                  Academic Committee

a)        Proposal for New Areas of Certification in Preschool Education
           Programmatic Area Specialization: Birth Through Pre-Kindergarten
           and Pre-School Special Needs. 

On behalf of the Committee, Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve the new areas of certification.  Second by Mr. Ketchum.  Motion carried.

3)                  Medical School Committee

            Mr. Shell and Mr. Marsteller reported on behalf of the Committee.

4)         Community College Committee

            No report presented.

5)         Athletic Committee

            No report presented.

VI.     Committee of the Whole

a)      Final passage of policies regarding Adjunct Faculty and Part-time Staff

         Mr. Ketchum moved that the Board adopt these policies as contained in the agenda.
         Second by Mr. Adkins. Motion carried.


b)      Enrollment Management Overview

The Department of Enrollment Management presented an in-depth overview with regard to student recruitment, enrollment, and retention. Presentations were made by Dr. Sarah Denman, Dr. Barbara Tarter (Assistant Vice President and Dean, Enrollment Management), Mr. Craig Grooms (Director, Admissions), Mr. Jack Toney (Director, Financial Aid). Topics discussed included: resident/non-resident enrollment; full time and part time students; student ACT scores; academic scholarships; enrollment trends; recruiting strategies and initiatives; and future challenges for enrollment management.

VII.   Possible Executive Session

Mr. Ketchum moved that the Board enter into executive session, second by Ms. Hartley. Motion carried.

At the conclusion of executive session, the Board reconvened in open session.

Mr. Farrell moved that the Board authorize Mr. Farrell and Dr. Denman to prepare a resolution honoring former Trustee Cathy Armstrong. Second by Mr. Ketchum. Motion carried.

Mr. Farrell moved that the Board approve the naming opportunity for Marshall University Stadium, pursuant to the recommendation of President Angel. Dr. Angel is to report back to the Board with regard to the acceptance of the appropriate terms and conditions concerning the naming opportunity. Second by Ms. Hartley. Motion carried.

VIII. Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.


Respectfully submitted,
Joseph Williams, Secretary

Site Maintained by President's Office. Copyright ©2006 Marshall University. All Rights Reserved.
Read Site Disclaimer for more information.
Marshall University - One John Marshall Drive - Huntington, WV 25755
Link to Electronic Directory Link to Contact Information Link to Campus Map Link to Site Index