Marshall University Logo
Department/College Name

MU Home
Choose Option from Navigation Bar

Board of Governors

Minutes of November 13, 2002

Members Participating:

Dr. Stephen Haid, Ms. Carol Hartley, Mr. Menis Ketchum, Ms. Virginia King, Mr. A. Michael Perry, Dr. Thomas F. Scott, Mr. Robert Shell, Jr., Dr. Sam Sentelle, Mr. David Todd, Mr. Gary G. White, Mr. Thomas D. Wilkerson, Mr. Joseph L. Williams, Ms. Sherri Noble, Dr. Marshall Onofrio, Mr. Cory Dennison



Dr. Dan Angel, Dr. Ed Grose, Mr. Layton Cottrill, Mr. Herb Karlet, Mr. Mike McGuffey, Mr. Larry Barnhill, Dr. Sarah Denman, Dr. Vicki Riley, Mr. David Ice, Dr. Charles McKown, Ms. Charlotte Weber, Dr. Howard Aulick, Mr. Ron Schelling, Dr. Mike Hicks, Dr. Mark Burton, Dr. Cal Kent, Dr. Jan Fox, Dr. Joseph Bragin, Mr. Dennis Juran

The meeting was called to order by Chair Gary White.


I.       Approval of Minutes

Mr. Tom Wilkerson moved to approve the minutes of the Board Meeting of August 27, 2002 (meeting by conference call) and the minutes of September 18, 2002. Seconded by Dr. Marshall Onofrio. Motion carried.

II.      Announcements

Dr. Dan Angel introduced the Marshall faculty and staff who worked on the grant proposal for the Biotechnology Development Center. Marshall was recently awarded a $6 million grant from the West Virginia Economic Development Grant Committee.

Grants officer David Ice gave an overview of the grant application process.

Mr. White discussed the initial organization of the Council of Board Chairs; a meeting will be held in the near future.

III.    Audited Financial Report - FY 2001-02I

Mr. Dennis Juran of Deloitte & Touche LLP addressed the board with regard to the audit report. Mr. Herb Karlet commented on the audit process. Mr. Mike Perry reported on this agenda item on behalf of the Finance Committee.

Mr. Perry moved that the Board accept The Financial Report and Management Letter, seconded by Mr. Wilkerson. Motion carried.

IV.    Consent Items

By unanimous consent, agenda items 5(d), Report on Partnerships for Quality Teaching, was moved from the consent agenda to information agenda.

Mrs. Virginia King moved to approve the items remaining on the consent agenda:

a) Third Party Waiver Annual Report for FY 2001-02;
b) Approval of various policies transferred to the Board of Governors;
c) Approval of policies transferred to the Board of Governors.

Motion seconded by Mr. Bob Shell.

Discussion ensued regarding the procedure for reviewing such policy transfers.

Motion carried.

V.      FY 2004-School of Medicine Budget Issues

Dr. Charles McKown and Mr. Jim Schneider presented this information item to the Board. Included was a School of Medicine budget summary, and the future negative impact of: potential state budget reduction; increasing liability insurance premiums; removal of EPSCoR funding; and patient care reimbursement reductions.

Dr. Haid and Mr. Shell commented on the Board's role as an advocate for Marshall and higher education; additional discussion ensured regarding state revenues, and the need for additional funding for Marshall and its School of Medicine.

Mr. White proposed the formation of an Ad Hoc committee for Legislative Affairs. With Board consent, Mr. White appointed the following members to this committee:

Mr. White
Mr. Perry
Mr. Williams
Mrs. King
Mr. Todd
Mrs. Noble
Dr. Haid
Mr. Shell

VI.    Approval of Compact Narrative/Community & Technical College - Marshall University        
         Compact Narrative 2002-03

Mr. David Todd presented these two agenda items on behalf of the Academic Affairs Committee.

Mr. Todd moved that the Board approve these items as contained in the agenda. Mr. Wilkerson seconded.

Motion carried.

VII.   A) FY 2003-04 Possible Budget Reduction
          B) Refinancing of 1992 bonds and possible issuance of new bonds by HEPC

Mr. Herb Karlet presented these two agenda items as information.

C) HEPC Series 5, Guidelines for Governing Boards in Employing and Evaluating Presidents or Other Administrative Heads of Institutions

Mr. Layton Cottrill presented this agenda item for information and discussion.

Following discussion, it was determined that the Board would craft a correspondence to the Policy Commission, outlining the Board’s position and providing feedback with regard to this agenda item.

Dr. Haid moved to authorize Mr. White and Mr. Cottrill to prepare this correspondence and forward to HEPC, with copies provided to Board members. Seconded by Mr. Shell. Motion carried.

VIII. Report on Partnerships for Quality Teaching

Dr. Sarah Denman presented this information item, and introduced Dr. Tony Williams and Dr. Jane McKee of the College of Education and Human Resources. Dr. Williams and Dr. McKee provided background on this item.

IX.    President's Report

a) Capital Campaign. Dr. Keith Spears provided a progress report on the campaign;
b) Dr. Angel distributed copies of his "State of the University" address;
c) Board members received copies of the book "Good to Great"
d) Board members received listing of future board meeting dates and calendar of future events at Marshall.

X.      Other Business

Mr. White made the following committee assignments: Mr. Shell to Finance Committee; Mr. Ketchum to Academic Affairs Committee; Mrs. King to Chair, Finance Committee.

The Board's executive committee will meet in Huntington on December 12, 2002, at 10:00 a.m. The ad hoc Legislative Affairs Committee will meet the same day following the executive committee.

XI.     Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.


Respectfully submitted,
Joseph Williams, Secretary


Site Maintained by President's Office. Copyright ©2006 Marshall University. All Rights Reserved.
Read Site Disclaimer for more information.
Marshall University - One John Marshall Drive - Huntington, WV 25755
Link to Electronic Directory Link to Contact Information Link to Campus Map Link to Site Index