Marshall University Logo
Department/College Name

MU Home
Choose Option from Navigation Bar

Board of Governors

Minutes of Special Meeting of December 17, 2004

Members Participating:

Mr. A. Michael Perry, Mr. William Smith, Mrs. Verna Gibson, Mr. Brent Marsteller, Mr. John Hess, Mr. Menis Ketchum, Dr. Jim Sottile, Mr. Bob Shell, Mrs. Letitia Chafin, Mr. Seth Murphy, Mrs. Sherri Noble, Mr. Gary White, Mrs. Virginia King, Mr. Mike Farrell, Mr. Gary Adkins, Mr. Joseph Williams (telephonically)


Mr. Michael McGuffey, Mr. Herb Karlet, Mr. Layton Cottrill, Dr. Sarah Denman, Mr. Lance West, Dr. Keith Spears, Ms. Stephanie Neal, Mr. Dave Wellman, Dr. Jan Fox, Mr. Glen Kerkian


Mr. Terry Sammons (telephonically) and Dr. Michael Mullen


I.        Call to Order

The Meeting was called to order by Chairman A. Michael Perry.

II.      Announcement and Information Items

III.     Committee of the Whole

a)       Discussion of Presidential Search Process

Mr. Perry outlined the Presidential Search Process; The Board of Governors is responsible for the search and selection process, and determines the composition of the search committee. Mr. Perry stressed the importance of involving various university constituencies, and the advisability of expanding the search committee to include key constituent representation.

Mr. Perry suggested adding the following individuals to our search committee: Mr. Mike Garrison and Mr. Terry Sammons from the Higher Education Policy Commission; Dr. Larry Stickler from Faculty Senate; Dr. Jan Fox, Vice President for Information Technology at Marshall University.

Mr. Perry further suggested that he and Mr. Ketchum serve as co-chairs of the search committee.

Following discussion, Mr. Shell moved that the Search Committee be comprised of the current members of the Board of Governors, plus the following individuals: Mr. Garrison and Mr. Sammons (HEPC); Dr. Stickler (Faculty Senate); Dr. Fox (VP Information Technology); and that Mr. Perry and Mr. Ketchum serve as co-chairs of the Search Committee.

Seconded by Mr. Marsteller

Mr. Murphy moved to amend Mr. Shell’s motion by adding the Chair of Marshall’s Staff Council and the President of MU’s Student Government Association to the Search Committee. Seconded by Ms. Noble.

This motion was defeated by voice vote.

Mr. Murphy then moved to amend Mr. Shell’s motion, by adding the Chair of Staff Council and The SGA President to the Search Committee as non-voting members.

Seconded by Mr. Williams.

This motion was defeated by a show of hands.

The question now being on Mr. Shell’s motion, motion carried by voice vote.

Mr. Perry discussed the role of an outside consultant in the Presidential Search process; the Board authorized Mr. Perry and Mr. Ketchum to seek proposals from consulting firms, and report such proposals to the full Search Committee.

Mr. Farrell informed Board members that he has submitted his resignation from the Board, in a letter to Governor Bob Wise.

IV.     Executive Session

Mr. Marsteller moved that the Board enter into executive session; second by Mr. Ketchum. Motion carried.

At the conclusion of executive session the Board re-convened in full and open session.

Mr. Murphy moved that the Board appoint Mr. Michael Farrell as Interim President of Marshall University, effective January 1, 2005, at a salary of $10,000 per month. Mr. Farrell is to take a leave of absence from his law firm. Seconded by Dr. Sottile. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Sammons approved this selection on behalf of the Higher Education Policy Commission.

V.      Adjournment

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Joseph Williams, Secretary


Site Maintained by President's Office. Copyright ©2006 Marshall University. All Rights Reserved.
Read Site Disclaimer for more information.
Marshall University - One John Marshall Drive - Huntington, WV 25755
Link to Electronic Directory Link to Contact Information Link to Campus Map Link to Site Index