Engineering News

Engineering Student first place in the Hardy Cross oral presentation competition

cooperDavid Cooper was selected as the winner of the Hard Cross oral presentation competition at the ASCE Virginias Region Conference, held on April 10 & 11 in Lexington, VA on the campus of the Virginia Military Institute. David competed with students from 14 other universities in West Virginia, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. His presentation focused on undergraduate research he participated in dealing with non-destructive testing of mine roof bolts. At the time, David was a senior in the Weisberg Division of Engineering at Marshall University. He graduated in May 2015 with his Bachelor of Science in Engineering degree and is currently employed with Brayman Construction. David is shown in the picture with Professor Jeff Huffman, ASCE-SAME student chapter faculty advisor.


SAME-ASCE Officers

The Society of American Military Engineers – American Society of Civil Engineers student chapter held officer elections

before the spring semester ended. The following students were elected to officer positions:

Bryce Merritt, President

Logan Stacks, Vice President

Jacob Thompson, Secretary

John Stephens, Treasurer

Miranda Clark, Fundraising Chair

Patrick Castro, Publicity Chair

Paige Thewes, Social Chair

Daniel Chapman, Professional Development Chair

Congratulation to the 2015-2016 SAME-ASCE Student Chapter Officers.

If you are interested in participating in the SAME-ASCE student chapter activites, contact Chapter President Bryce Merritt at for more information.

Dr. Richard McCormick honored with Koch Award

McCormick-2Dr. Richard F. McCormick, professor of engineering, was given the Roy D. Koch Award for his lifetime of service to the West Virginia Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) at the section’s annual meeting last month at Oglebay Park in Wheeling.

The award is the highest honor given by the West Virginia Section of ASCE, and it was established in 1974 “to recognize those individuals who have provided meritorious service to the West Virginia Section for an extended period of time.”

McCormick served as treasurer, vice president and president of the section in the late 1980s, wrote the first section handbook in 1996 and has remained active in the section since that time. However, he was recognized with the Koch Award mainly because of his many years of work with ASCE student chapters at WVU Tech and Marshall. He served as the Tech ASCE faculty adviser for more than 20 years, and is the founding adviser of Marshall’s new ASCE student chapter.

McCormick was nominated for the award by Dean Wael Zatar, with the final decision being made by the section’s board of directors.

Dr. Sarder Sadique


sadique_sDr. Sarder Sadique, Mechanical Engineer, has joined the Weisberg Division of Engineering as an Assistant Professor. He has a Bachelor and Masters in Materials Engineering from the Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, and a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the National University of Singapore (NUS 2013 ranking: 24 in the world). He has been a faculty member and Department Head at the Curtin University of Technology, Sarawak Campus, Malaysia; faculty member and researcher at Centennial College, Toronto, Ontario, Canada; faculty member at University of Texas at El Paso and University of Southern Mississippi; and most recently a faculty member at Central Michigan University.

Research Interests

Advanced Manufacturing Processes, Hybrid Renewable Energy (solar and wind), Nanobioengineering, Nanobiomechanics, Nano-tribology and Elastohydrodynamic Lubrication, Biosensors and Biorobotics, Fuel Cells – Source of Energy.


  • Professional Engineers Ontario (PEO), Toronto, Canada
  • Ontario Society of Professional Engineers (OSPE)
  • The Society of Tribologist and Lubrication Engineers (STLE)
  • The Institution of Engineers Bangladesh (IEB), Bangladesh

Selected Publications

  • M. Barati, S. Sadique, A. McLean, R. Roy; Recovery of Silicon from Silica Fume. Journal of Non-crystalline Solids, vol. 357, pp: 18-23; 2011.
  • Sadique SE, Ramakrishna S, Batchelor AW and Bing CH; In vitro sliding mechanics and wear patterns between contemporary and esthetic composite orthodontic brackets and archwires. Wear; vol. 261, pp: 1121-1139; 2006.
  • S.E. Sadique, M.A.H. Mollah, M.S. Islam, M.M. Ali, M.M.H. M. Megat and S. Basri; High temperature oxidation behaviour of iron-chromium-aluminum alloys. Oxidation of Metals. Vol. 54, Nos. 5/6, pp: 385-400, 2000.

Dr. Greg Michaelson


Dr. Greg Michaelson, a structural engineer, has joined the faculty of the Weisberg Division of Engineering this Fall 2014 semester. He received a Bachelor of Science degree from Bluefield State College in 2009, a Master of Science degree from West Virginia University (WVU) in 2010, and a Ph.D. from WVU in 2014. In 2011, he was named a recipient of the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship (Grant No. DGE-1102689).

His current research interests are focused in development of innovative steel highway bridge applications and improving analysis/design procedures for bridges, These include steel bridge design, nonlinear finite element modeling, structural stability, and experimental investigation of structural systems. He is also an active member within AISI’s Short Span Steel Bridge Alliance, a group of bridge and culvert industry leaders who have joined together to provide education, economical designs, and innovative modular solutions for short span steel bridges.

Engineering Laboratories Used for Summer Workshops for High School Teachers


Several faculty and administrators from three WV high schools attended a two week workshop to receive specialized training for a series of new energy and power high school courses. The workshop, coordinated by Dr. Richard Begley an engineering faculty member, included the hands on training for bench top laboratory experiments integrated with LabView data acquisition and analysis hardware and software. The experiments included the construction and monitoring of an electrical motor, wind and water turbines in addition to a heat exchanger. Workshops are also being planned for additional schools from WV and other states next summer.

From left to right,
1. John Winston, Assistant Principal Lewis County High School – standing
2. Tim Beasley, Kanawha County Schools, Ben Franklin Technical Center – seated
3. Dustin Cogar, Lewis County, Lewis County High School – seated
4. Mark Smith, Teacher Lewis County High School – standing