Image: With State State

April 30, 2018

Lewis College of Business inducts four business leaders in 2018 Hall of Fame

Marshall University's Lewis College of Business and its Advisory Board welcomed four business leaders into its Hall of Fame on April 26. The 2018 Hall of Fame inductees are Greg Burton, Jim Datin, Joe Holley and Steve Roberts. They were honored during the induction ceremony at the Brad D. Smith Foundation Hall. More than 200 guests joined us to celebrate our biggest night.

Greg Burton has been executive chair of Motorists Insurance Group since its affiliation with BrickStreet Mutual, which closed in April 2017. Burton was BrickStreet's chief executive officer and president from May 2015 to April 2017. He also continues to serve on the BrickStreet board of directors as executive chair. Jim Datin is currently president and chief executive officer of BioAgilytix, a global bioanalytical contract research organization that supports the development of novel therapeutic biologics and biosimilars. He is on the Lewis College of Business Advisory Board. Joe Holley is a licensed CPA and co-owner and executive vice president at JABO Supply Corp. In addition to serving as chair emeritus of the West Virginia Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve, he is a current member of the IRS Taxpayer Advocacy Panel and a member of the Lewis College of Business Advisory Board. Steve Roberts is president of the West Virginia Chamber of Commerce, which serves as the voice of business throughout the state. The West Virginia Chamber has been recognized for achieving the highest market share and largest new member growth in the nation.

Starting in 1995, 105 outstanding business leaders have been inducted in the Lewis College of Business Hall of Fame.

LCOB Spring 2018 Research Day

On April 27, the Lewis College of Business celebrated its second "Research Day". This event provided an opportunity for our faculty to present their current or recently completed research projects. The event was a huge success. The event was organized by the LCOB Faculty Development Committee, led by Dr. Alberto Coustasse (chair).

Dr. William J. Kehoe, William F. O'Dell Professor at the McIntyre School in the University of Virginia, a Son of Marshall (Marshall alumnus and former Marshall faculty in our Marketing program) served as the plenary Dean's Distinguished Speaker. There were thirteen scholarly papers presented, authored by 19 LCOB faculty and 2 co-authors from other schools. Five poster presentations were displayed, authored by twelve scholars. Our panel of judges (Dr. William Kehoe, Univ of Virginia), Dr. Cal Kent (former LCOB Dean and current Advisory Board member), and Ms. Anna Lynch (Undergrad senior, President of Beta Gamma Sigma) selected the following winners:

Oral Presentations: 1st place: Marc Sollosy & Nicholas Gerlich *(Strategic Management and Social Media)*; 2nd place: Nancy Lankton & Charles Stivason *(Protection-Motivated Behaviors: The Role of Criticality)*; 3rd place: Casey Baker *(Marijuana, Fraud, and Investors' Unclean Hands)*.

Poster Presentations: 1st place: Ralph McKinney *(Strategic Integration of Educational Programs)*; 2nd place: Alberto Coustasse, Maggie Phillips, Jumana Abboud, Neha Botre, and David Paul *(The Growing Problem of Hepatitis C in the US: The Case of WV).*