

November 18, 2019 | Volume 3, Issue 6

LCOB Fall 2019 Research Day

The Lewis College of Business celebrated its fifth "Faculty Research Day" on Friday, November 15. This was our largest Research Day ever, both in number of paper presentations and in attendance. This event provided an opportunity for our faculty to present their current or recently completed research projects. The event was organized by the LCOB Faculty Development Committee: Dr. Alberto Coustasse (Chair), Dr. Yi Duan, Dr. Monica Wei, and Prof. Tessa White. Dr. Don Capener, Associate Dean of Woodbury School of Business at Utah Valley University and Former Dean of the David College of Business at Jacksonville University, served as the plenary Dean's Distinguished Speaker.

There were fifteen scholarly papers presented, authored by twelve LCOB faculty, one faculty each from the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine and the School of Pharmacy, and one visiting faculty from China.

Our panel of judges, Dr. Don Capener (Utah Valley University), Dr. Bob Alexander (LCOB Advisory Board member & former Dean), Ms. Keely Truman (Undergraduate Senior and President of American Marketing Association - Marshall Chapter), and Dr. Gayle Brazeau (Dean, School of Pharmacy) selected the following winners:

1st place: Dr. Tyson Ang (Social Media Firestorms: How Does Observing Customer-to-Customer Incivility Affect Consumers' Brand Evaluation and Behavioral Intentions?) - \$800 cash award

2nd place: Dr. Tim Bryan (Understatement of Accounts Receivable) - \$500 cash award

3rd place: Dr. Monica Wei (Does Global vs. Local Scope Matter? Contingencies of Cause-Related Marketing in a Developed Market) - \$300 cash award

A total of 59 people, including several students, attended Research Day. The LCOB faculty and staff attendees (not including myself) are listed as follows: Alberto Coustasse, Jeffrey Archambault, Jean Price, Nancy Lankton, Marie Archambault, Casey Baker, Tim Bryan, Tessa White, Amanda Meadows, Uday Tate, Anil Gurung, Monica Wei, Tyson Ang, Richard Agesa, Nabaneeta Biswas, Yi Duan, Boniface Yemba, Mohammad Karim, Shaorong Zhang, Deepak Subedi, Kent Willis, Uyi Lawani, Kevin Knotts, Ivan Muslin, Marc Sollosy, Jamey Halleck, Glen Midkiff, and Guodong Huang.

I am delighted to see such an overwhelming response to our Fall 2019 LCOB Faculty Research Day, because it is not only a celebration of our faculty's intellectual accomplishments, but also it is the recognition of how our applied research can help the business community. This event could not have happened without the tireless efforts of FDC Chair Dr. Alberto Coustasse, Associate Dean Dr. Nancy Lankton, Stakeholder Director Glen Midkiff, and Special Projects Coordinator Guodong Huang - special thanks to all of you! Let us continue to grow the Faculty Research Day as a signature event for the Lewis College of Business.



Delta Sigma Pi – Most Improved Collegiate Chapter Award

I would like to share some exciting news on behalf of Delta Sigma Pi (DSP) Professional Business Fraternity. The Xi Upsilon Chapter from Marshall University received the East Central Region's Most Improved Collegiate Chapter award. Awards were presented at the DSP biennial national convention, the Grand Chapter Congress (GCC), in August. To be recognized for an award, the chapter must submit an online application. Each application is first reviewed by a group of Fraternity volunteers within each region (groups of five to ten collegiate chapters in a geographic area). Regional winners are then progressed to a provincial award selection committee. (Provinces include: Northeastern, North Central, Southern, South Central and Western and each province has approximately 40 to 50 chapters). A national winner is then selected from the five provincial winners by DeltaSig's National Scholastic Development and Awards Committee, led by an appointed individual who has shown years of dedicated service to the Fraternity.

To win this award is a testament to the chapter's overall excellence. The following criteria was evaluated when choosing awardees. **Outstanding Scholastic Development (regional recipient):**

Presented annually to a chapter that plans and implements the most comprehensive program of scholastic development.

Please join me in congratulating the chapter for their hard work and growing contribution to campus and the community.

Beta Alpha Psi – Kappa Phi Superior Chapter Recognition

On behalf of the Beta Alpha Psi Board of Directors, Dr. Brian McGuire, 2019-2020 President, has informed us that the our Kappa Phi chapter has received international recognition as a Superior Chapter and will receive an award of \$500. The financial support for this award is graciously sponsored by KPMG and the KPMG Foundation. Recognition as a Superior Chapter is a significant accomplishment. Congratulations to Professor Amanda Thompson-Abbott, Dr. Dallas Brozik and the Kappa Phi Chapter on their outstanding efforts during the 2018-2019 academic year, leading to the Chapter far exceeding the baseline requirements of Beta Alpha Psi and excelling in the areas of academics, professionalism, and leadership. My heartfelt congratulations to the Kappa Phi Chapter for its accomplishments and best wishes for continued success.