College of Science Directory

COS Office

Charles Somerville
Somerville
Dean, College of Science
Office: S 270
Phone: (304) 696-2424
somervil@marshall.edu
Dhruba Bora
Bora
Associate Dean & Professor
Office: S 270
Phone: (304) 696-3638
Fax: (304) 696-3243
bora@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/bora/
Helen Bonham
Bonham
Business Manager I
Office: S 272
Phone: (304) 696-4672
bonham@marshall.edu
Joseph Chambers
Chambers
Academic Advisor
Office: S 270
Phone: (304) 696-3475
chambersjo@marshall.edu
Cynthia Cole
Cole
Academic Advisor
Office: S 213
Phone: (304) 696-3476
colec@marshall.edu
Vicki Cole
Cole
Academic Advisor
Office: S 270
Phone: (304) 696-6672
colev@marshall.edu
Mary Jo Smith
Smith
Administrative Secretary
Office: S 270
Phone: (304) 696-2371
smithmj@marshall.edu
 

Biological Sciences

David Mallory
Mallory
Interim Chair of the Biological Sciences
Office: S 350
Phone: (304) 696-2353
Fax: (304) 696-7136
mallory@marshall.edu
Vickie Crager
Crager
Office: S 350
Phone: (304) 696-5413
crager@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/crager
Wanda Dyke
Dyke
Administrative Secretary Sr.
Office: ML 116
Phone: (304) 696-6498
Fax: (304) 696-6533
dyke@marshall.edu
Brian Antonsen
Antonsen
Associate Professor
Office: S 318
Phone: (304) 696-6496
antonsenb@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/antonsenb
Anne Axel
Axel
Office: S 260
Phone: (304) 696-2426
axel@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/axel
Habiba Chirchir
Chirchir
Office: S 279B
Phone: (304) 696-3632
chirchir@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/chirchir
Victor Fet
Fet
Professor
Office: S 206
Phone: (304) 696-3116
fet@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/fet/Euscorpius
Philippe Georgel
Georgel
Professor
Office: BBSC 241P
Phone: (304) 696-3965
Fax: (304) 696-7136
georgel@marshall.edu
http://mupfc.marshall.edu/~georgel
Emily Gillespie
Gillespie
Office: S 364
Phone: (304) 696-6467
gillespiee@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/gillespiee
Frank Gilliam
Gilliam
Professor
Office: S 380
Phone: (304) 696-3636
Fax: (304) 696-3243
gilliam@marshall.edu
http://www.science.marshall.edu/gilliam
Marcia Harrison-Pitaniello
Harrison-Pitaniello
Professor
Office: S 200A
Phone: (304) 696-4867
Fax: (304) 696-7136
harrison@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/harrison
Tim Hayes
Hayes
Office: S 201
Phone: (304) 696-3480
hayes23@marshall.edu
James Joy
Joy
Professor
Office: S 265
Phone: (304) 696-3639
joy@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/joy
Jeffrey Kovatch
Kovatch
Assistant Professor
Office: S-122A
Phone: (304) 696-3829
kovatch@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/kovatch/
Herman Mays
Mays
Office: S 390
Phone: (304) 696-6692
maysh@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/maysh
Jennifer Mosher
Mosher
Office: WAEC 2221
Phone: (304) 696-3148
mosher@marshall.edu
Frank O'Keefe
O'Keefe
Associate Professor
Office: S 267
Phone: (304) 696-2427
okeefef@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/okeefef
Elmer Price
Price
Office: S 350
Phone: (304) 696-3611
pricee@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/pricee
Gary Schultz
Schultz
Office: S 309
Phone: (304) 696-7057
schultzga@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/shultzga
Charles Somerville
Somerville
Dean, College of Science
Office: S 270
Phone: (304) 696-2424
somervil@marshall.edu
Nadja Spitzer
Spitzer
Assistant Professor
Office: S-315 inside 311A
Phone: (304) 696-7147
spitzern@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/spitzern
Suzanne Strait
Strait
Professor
Office: S 274
Phone: (304) 696-2425
Fax: (304) 696-3243
straitho@marshall.edu
http://www.science.marshall.edu/straitho/
Jennifer Strickland
Strickland
Office: S 398
Phone: (304) 696-3393
stricklandj@marshall.edu
Wendy Trzyna
Trzyna
Associate Professor
Office: S 300A
Phone: (304) 696-6791
trzyna@marshall.edu
Jagan Valluri
Valluri
Professor
Office: S 370
Phone: (304) 696-2409
Fax: 304-696-7136
valluri@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/valluri
Jayme Waldron
Waldron
Assistant Professor
Office: S 378
Phone: (304) 696-3361
waldron3@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/waldron3
Guo-Zhang Zhu
Zhu
Professor
Office: S 394
Phone: (304) 696-2429
zhu4@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/zhu4
Susan Weinstein
Weinstein
Academic Laboratory Manager III
Office: S 204
Phone: (304) 696-2428
weinstei@marshall.edu
http://www.science.marshall.edu/weinstei/
 

Chemistry

Michael Castellani
Castellani
Professor & Chair
Office: S 450
Phone: (304) 696-6486
castella@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/castella/
Christy Burton
Burton
Office: S 251
Phone: (304) 696-6738
burton80@marshall.edu
Phillip Alexander
Alexander
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: S 408
Phone: (304) 696-4808
Fax: (304) 696-3243
alexand1@marshall.edu
Gary Anderson
Anderson
Professor Emeritus
Office: S 416
Phone: (304) 696-6594
anderson@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/anderson/
Scott Day
Day
Associate Professor
Office: S 479
Phone: (304) 696-7054
Fax: (304) 696-3243
day17@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/day17
Leslie Frost
Frost
Professor
Office: S 464
Phone: (304) 696-6774
frost@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/frost
John Hubbard
Hubbard
Professor
Office: S 484
Phone: (304) 696-3136
hubbard@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/hubbard
Derrick Kolling
Kolling
Assistant Professor
Office: WAEC 2217
Phone: (304) 696-2307
kolling@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/kolling
Jenifer Markiewicz
Markiewicz
Office: S 482
Phone: (304) 696-6738
markiewitzj@marshall.edu
John Markiewicz
Markiewicz
Office: S 482
Phone: (304) 696-6738
markiewicz@marshall.edu
Laura McCunn
McCunn
Associate Professor
Office: S 466
Phone: (304) 696-2319
Fax: (304) 696-3243
mccunn@marshall.edu
http://www.science.marshall.edu/mccunn/
Robert Morgan
Morgan
Associate Professor
Office: S 486
Phone: (304) 696 3159
morganr@marshall.edu
Michael Norton
Norton
Professor
Office: BBSC 241K
Phone: (304) 696-3489
norton@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/norton/
Kenneth O'Connor
O'Connor
Associate Professor
Office: S 498
Phone: (304) 696-4358
oconnor9@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/oconnor9
William Price
Price
Associate Professor
Office: S 482
Phone: (304) 696-3156
Fax: (304) 696-3243
pricew@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/pricew
Rosalynn Quinones-Fernandez
Quinones-Fernandez
Assistant Professor
Office: S 496
Phone: (304) 696-6731
quinonesr@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/quinonesr
John Rakus
Rakus
Assistant Professor
Office: S 478
Phone: (304) 696-6627
rakus@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/rakus
Lawrence Schmitz
Schmitz
Professor
Office: S 488
Phone: (304) 696-2373
schmitz@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/schmitz
Bin Wang
Wang
Associate Professor
Office: BBSC 241L
Phone: (304) 696-3456
Fax: (304) 696-3243
wangb@marshall.edu
http://www.science.marshall.edu/wangb
Darwin McCunn
McCunn
Lab Manager
Office: S 403
Phone: (304) 696-6737
mccunnd@marshall.edu
David Neff
Neff
Technician
Office: BBSC 107A
Phone: (304) 696-3569
dneff@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/dneff
 

Computer & Information Technology

Brian Morgan
Morgan
Chair & Associate Professor
Office: ML 114
Phone: (304) 696-6469
Fax: (304) 696-6533
brian.morgan@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/morgan16
Wanda Dyke
Dyke
Administrative Secretary Sr.
Office: ML 116
Phone: (304) 696-6498
Fax: (304) 696-6533
dyke@marshall.edu
David Cartwright
Cartwright
Instructor
Office: ML 112
Phone: (304) 696-6024
cartwrig@marshall.edu
Hamid Chahryar
Chahryar
Associate Professor
Office: PH 211
Phone: (304) 696-2690
chahryar@marshall.edu
Matt Mundell
Mundell
Office: PH 208
Phone: (304) 696-3436
mundell2@marshall.edu
 

Criminal Justice & Criminology

Kimberly DeTardo-Bora
DeTardo-Bora
Professor
Office: SH 736
Phone: (304) 696-3084
detardobora@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/detardobora/
Dhruba Bora
Bora
Associate Dean & Professor
Office: S 270
Phone: (304) 696-3638
Fax: (304) 696-3243
bora@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/bora/
Margaret Phipps Brown
Brown
Professor
Office: SH 735
Phone: (304) 696-3086
brownmp@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/brownmp/
Whitney Flesher
Flesher
Office: SH 734
Phone: (304) 696-3082
flesher9@marshall.edu
 

Forensic Sciences Master's

Terry Fenger
Fenger
Office: MUFSC W200C
Phone: (304) 691-8960
fenger@marshall.edu
 

Forensic Sciences

John Sammons
Sammons
Assistant Professor
Office: WAEC 2003
Phone: (304) 696-7241
sammons17@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/sammons17
Josh Brunty
Brunty
Assistant Professor
Office: WAEC 2001
Phone: (304) 696-5602
Fax: (304) 696-6533
josh.brunty@marshall.edu
Menashi Cohenford
Cohenford
Professor
Office: BBSC 241H
Phone: (304) 696-2697
cohenford@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/cohenford/
Bill Gardner
Gardner
Assistant Professor
Office: WAEC 2005
Phone: (304) 696-2658
gardner62@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/gardner62
Liz Murray
Murray
Professor
Office: BBSC 241G
Phone: (304) 696-3515
murraye@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/murraye/
 

Geology

Aley El-Shazly
El-Shazly
Office: S 131
Phone: (304) 696-6756
elshazly@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/elshazly
Christy Burton
Burton
Office: S 251
Phone: (304) 696-6738
burton80@marshall.edu
Ronald Martino
Martino
Professor
Office: S 174
Phone: (304) 696-2715
martinor@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/martinor
William Niemann
Niemann
Office: S 171
Phone: (304) 696-6721
niemann@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/niemann
Mitchell Scharman
Scharman
Office: S 163
Phone: (304) 696-5435
scharman@marshall.edu
 

Mathematics

Alfred Akinsete
Akinsete
Professor & Chair
Office: SH 523/524
Phone: (304) 696-6010
Fax: (304) 696-4646
akinsete@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/akinsete/
Stacy Good
Good
Administrative Secretary II
Office: SH 523
Phone: (304) 696-6482
good2@marshall.edu
Laura Adkins
Adkins
Professor
Office: SH 724
Phone: (304) 696-3034
adkinsl@marshall.edu
Raid Al-Aqtash
Al-Aqtash
Assistant Professor
Office: WAEC 3231
Phone: (304) 696-3044
Fax: (304) 696-4646
alaqtash@marshall.edu
Ariyadasa Aluthge
Aluthge
Professor
Office: SH 714
Phone: (304) 696-3050
aluthge@marshall.edu
Jessica Briscoe
Briscoe
Instructor
Office: SH 526B
Phone: (304) 696-6663
briscoe7@marshall.edu
Clayton Brooks
Brooks
Professor
Office: SH 723
Phone: (304) 696-6702
brooksc@marshall.edu
Matt Carlton
Carlton
Professor
Office: SH 722
Phone: (304) 696-3039
carlton@marshall.edu
Mary Crytzer
Crytzer
Instructor
Office: SH 741A
Phone: (304) 696-7245
haupt1@marshall.edu
David Cusick
Cusick
Professor
Office: SH 725
Phone: (304) 696-3038
cusick@marshall.edu
John Drost
Drost
Professor
Office: SH 742C
Phone: (304) 696-3043
drost@marshall.edu
Andrea Duhon
Duhon
Assistant Professor
Office: SH 742D
Phone: (304) 696-3285
duhona@marshall.edu
Alan Horwitz
Horwitz
Associate Professor
Office: SH 741
Phone: (304) 696-3046
horwitz@marshall.edu
JiYoon Jung
Jung
Assistant Professor
Office: SH 742D
Phone: (304) 696-3285
Fax: (304) 696-4646
jungj@marshall.edu
Basant Karna
Karna
Associate Professor
Office: SH 715
Phone: (304) 696-4332
Fax: (304) 696-4646
karna@marshall.edu
http://www.science.marshall.edu/karna/
Bonita Lawrence
Lawrence
Professor
Office: SH 614
Phone: (304) 696-3040
Fax: (304) 696-4646
lawrence@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/lawrence
Rob-Roy Mace
Mace
Instructor
Office: SH 743E
Phone: (304) 696-7040
mace22@marshall.edu
Avishek Mallick
Mallick
Assistant Professor
Office: SH 743C
Phone: (304) 696-3443
mallicka@marshall.edu
Tracy Marsh
Marsh
Instructor
Office: SH 526A
Phone: (304) 696-3016
marsh9@marshall.edu
Shannon Miller-Mace
Miller-Mace
Instructor
Office: SH 741B
Phone: (304) 696-3796
miller207@marshall.edu
Karen Mitchell
Mitchell
Professor
Office: CB 132
Phone: (304) 696-3042
mitchelk@marshall.edu
Anna Mummert
Mummert
Associate Professor
Office: SH 719
Phone: (304) 696-3041
Fax: (304) 696-4646
mummerta@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/mummerta
Carl Mummert
Mummert
Associate Professor
Office: ML 110
Phone: (304) 696-6156
Fax: (304) 696-4646
mummertc@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/mummertc
Elizabeth Niese
Niese
Assistant Professor
Office: SH 721
Phone: (304) 696-3609
niese@marshall.edu
http://mupfc.marshall.edu/~niese/
Michael Otunuga
Otunuga
Assistant Professor
Office: WAEC 3229
Phone: (304) 696-3049
Fax: (304) 696-4646
otunuga@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/otunuga
Evelyn Pupplo-Cody
Pupplo-Cody
Professor and Associate Chair
Office: ML 106
Phone: (304) 696-3047
pupploco@marshall.edu
Scott Sarra
Sarra
Professor
Office: WAEC 3227
Phone: (304) 696-7246
sarra@marshall.edu
http://www.scottsarra.org
Peter Saveliev
Saveliev
Professor and Asst. Chair for Graduate Studies
Office: SH 713
Phone: (304) 696-4639
Fax: (304) 696-4646
saveliev@marshall.edu
http://PeterSaveliev.com
Michael Schroeder
Schroeder
Assistant Professor
Office: SH 742F
Phone: (304) 696-6643
schroederm@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/schroederm
Stacy Scudder
Scudder
Instructor
Office: SH 743F
Phone: (304) 696-3035
scudder@marshall.edu
Laura Stapleton
Stapleton
Instructor
Office: SH 720
Phone: (304) 696-4334
stapleto@marshall.edu
Kusum Subedi
Subedi
Instructor
Office: SH 743D
Phone: (304) 696-6081
subedik@marshall.edu
Devon Wright
Wright
Instructor
Office: SH 742E
Phone: (304) 696-4333
tivener1@marshall.edu
 

Natural Resources & the Environment

Mindy Armstead
Armstead
Assistant Professor
Office: WAEC 2223
Phone: (304) 696-2923
myeager@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/myeager/
Vickie Crager
Crager
Office: S 350
Phone: (304) 696-5413
crager@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/crager
Wanda Dyke
Dyke
Administrative Secretary Sr.
Office: ML 116
Phone: (304) 696-6498
Fax: (304) 696-6533
dyke@marshall.edu
Sam Colvin
Colvin
Assistant Professor
Office: ML 111
Phone: (304) 696-5432
colvin8@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/colvin8
David Graefe
Graefe
Assistant Professor
Office: PH 201
Phone: (304) 696-2608
graefe@marshall.edu
Tom Jones
Jones
Associate Professor
Office: ML 115
Phone: (304) 696-6305
jonest@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/jonest
Min Kook Kim
Kim
Assistant Professor
Office: PH 212
Phone: (304) 696-3748
kimm@marshall.edu
Terry Shank
Shank
Assistant Professor
Office: ML 113
Phone: (304) 696-3517
shank@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/shank
 

Physics

Huong Nguyen
Nguyen
Chair and Professor
Office: S 251
Phone: (304) 696-2756
Fax: (304) 696-2494
nguyenh@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/nguyenh
Christy Burton
Burton
Office: S 251
Phone: (304) 696-6738
burton80@marshall.edu
Maria Babiuc-Hamilton
Babiuc-Hamilton
Associate Professor
Office: S 257
Phone: (304) 696-2754
Fax: (304) 696-2494
babiuc@marshall.edu
Xiaojuan Fan
Fan
Associate Professor
Office: S 256
Phone: (304) 696-3757
Fax: (304) 696-2494
x.fan@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/fan2
Curtis Foltz
Foltz
Assistant Professor
Office: S 159
Phone: (304) 696-2519
Fax: (304) 696-2494
foltzc@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/foltzc
Sean McBride
McBride
Assistant Professor
Office: S 152
Phone: (304) 696-2758
mcbrides@marshall.edu
Ralph Oberly
Oberly
Professor
Office: S 254
Phone: (304) 696-2757
Fax: (304) 696-2494
oberly@marshall.edu
Howard Richards
Richards
Assistant Professor
Office: S 105
Phone: (304) 696-6466
Fax: (304) 696-2494
howard.richards@marshall.edu
Jon Saken
Saken
Assistant Professor
Office: S 178
Phone: (304) 696-2753
saken@marshall.edu
Andre Wehner
Wehner
Assistant Professor
Office: S 255
Phone: (304) 696-2755
wehnera@marshall.edu
Thomas Wilson
Wilson
Office: S 153
Phone: (304) 696-2752
Fax: (304) 696-2494
wilsont@marshall.edu
http://science.marshall.edu/wilsont
David Sheehan
Sheehan
Office: S 175
Phone: (304) 696-2759
sheehand@marshall.edu
 

COS IT Center

James Booth
Booth
Instructional Technologist
Office: S 162
Phone: (304) 696-2908
Fax: (304) 696-2600
james.booth@marshall.edu
http://www.marshall.edu/cositc
Nick Slate
Slate
Instructional Technologist
Office: S 162
Phone: (304) 696-3595
slate1@marshall.edu
 
 
 
College of Science • One John Marshall Drive • Science Building 270 • Huntington, WV 25755
cos@marshall.edu • (304) 696-2372