The John Deaver Drinko St. Marys High School Scholars

The Academy provides support to many people and programs in order to promote and support it’s mission.
The first program the Academy supports is one of great significance to John D. Drinko. The Academy awards the John D. Drinko/St. Marys High School Scholarship to a student from St. Marys High School. This scholarship was of great importance to John Deaver Drinko as he supported and helped those from his hometown of St. Marys, WV.

Lana Snider, B.BA. 1992 Bridget Nelson, B.A. 1994
Tamara Burns, B.S. 1995 Charles Simons, B.A. 1995
Holly Smith, R.B.A. 1995 Jason Guthrie, B.BA. 1996
Brian Guthrie, B.A. 1998 Michael Powell, B.A. 2003
Sara Jones, B.A. 2004 Adam Farris, B.S. 2006
Kristen Pack B.S. 2009, M.S. 2010 Zachary Williams, B.A. 2008
Jessica McClure B.A. 2010 Brittany Milhoan B.S. 2011, M.S. 2016

The Elizabeth Gibson Drinko Honors Convocation Guest Lecturers and recipients of The John Deaver Drinko Distinguished Service Award

On very special occasions and to only very special people the Drinko Academy gives The John Deaver Drinko Distinguished Service Award. The purpose of this award is to selectively identify and recognize individuals who have exhibited by their contributions to society the qualities most valued by the Drinko Academy.

Dr. Stephanie Skolik 2015
Dr. Eric George 2014
Major Matthew Powers, USMC 2013
Dr. Staci Provezis 2012
Joe Johns 2011
David Wiley 2010
Brad Smith 2009
Julia Keller 2008
Art and Joan Weisburg 2007
A. Michael Perry 2006
Mr. Charles Lanham 2005
Mr. John Churchill Hodges 2004
Mrs. Nancy Francis 2003
Mr. Wilbur Myers 2002
Dr. Robert B. Hayes 2001
Dr. Bernard Queen 2000
Mr. William Horn 1999
Mr. Charles Whitehead 1998
Ms. Ginny Zbach 1997
Mr. Amos Maynard 1996
The Honorable Vern Riffe 1995
The Honorable Robert C. Chambers 1995
Dr. Sam Clagg 1994

University and Community Support

Finally, support is given for the The Simon Perry Center for Constitutional Democracy, and many University and Community programs and project.

Marshall University Program Support

  • St. Marys High School Scholarship Program
  • John Deaver Drinko Student Service Awards
  • Rosanna Blake Library of Confederate History
  • John Deaver Drinko Library
  • Special Collections, James E. Morrow Library
  • West Virginia Autism Training Center
  • Society of Yeager Scholars
  • Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Gender in Appalachia
  • Women’s Center
  • H.E.L.P. Program
  • John R. Hall Center for Academic Excellence
  • John Marshall Society
  • Marshall University Foundation
  • Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Colleges of Business, Liberal Arts, Science, Education, Fine Arts, Nursing and Health Professions, and the School of Journalism

Community Program Support

  • West Virginia Coal Heritage Project
  • West Virginia Humanities Council
  • West Virginia Book Festival
  • Tri-State Book Festival
  • Huntington Museum of Art
  • Tri-State Underground Railroad Project
  • Junior League of Huntington
  • Barnett Child Care Center
  • Carter G. Woodson Foundation
  • Huntington Wall of Fame Foundation
  • Greenbottom Plantation Museum
  • Welsh Scenic By-Way
  • Point Pleasant River Museum
  • West Virginia Colored Girls Home, Huntington, W.Va. (placed on National Register of Historic Places, November 13, 1997)
  • “Humanities and the Local Community” Two Day Seminar October 15-16, 1996 (with Concord College and the West Virginia Humanities Council)
  • West Virginia Film History Summer Seminar, July 16-21, 1995 (with the West Virginia Humanities Council and West Virginia Secretary of Education and the Arts)