Founders Circle

The Founders Circle represents the spirit and dedication of three individuals from Marshall’s early history who founded Marshall Academy. Their visionary leadership began the journey to where we stand today. The following donor recognition societies include their names:

John Laidley Society

In recognition of lifetime gifts and pledges of $750,000 to $999,999.

Laidley was a prosecuting attorney of Cabell County and delegate of the Virginia Legislature, was one of the moving forces in establishing Marshall Academy, serving as a trustee for many years. He was instrumental in having the school named Marshall Academy in honor of his friend, the late Chief Justice of the United States John Marshall, who had died two years earlier.

John Laidley Society Members

Earleen H. and Robert W. Agee

Allied Realty Company

City National Bank

Dr. R. Mark and Monica J.W. Hatfield

Jackson F. and Sue H. Moses and Moses Automotive

Lake and Louise R. Polan, III

Estate of William Saunders

Delbert E. and Ella Smith

Joseph B. and Omayma T. Touma

John L. and Donna M. Underwood

Gary G. and Jo Ann White

James Holderby Society

In recognition of lifetime gifts and pledges of $500,000 to $749,999.

Holderby purchased land in 1821 upon which much of Marshall University now stands. He was a prosperous farmer and business man, who supported Marshall throughout his life. The Trustees purchased one and a quarter acres of land at Maple Grove from him for $40, the deed calling for the land to be “used for the express purpose of an Academy and no other use.”

James Holderby Society Members

Dr. Leslie Petteys and William “Skip” Campbell

Philip E. Cline

Noel P. and Berridge L. Copen

Stephen H. and Pamela K. Ellis

Foundation For The Tri-State

David and Laura J. Fox, III

Martha T. Helbig

Dorothy E. Hicks

Huntington Federal Savings Bank

Elmer Jackson

Delphia Johnson

Connie Lublin

Marshall University Quarterback Club of Charleston

Jose and Amy Ricard

Dr. and Mrs. Thomas F. Scott

Clyde and Pansy Slater

John T. Sydnor, Jr.

Charles I. Thornburg

Sheryl and Harvey White

L. Mildred Williams

Charles and Victoria Yeager

William Buffington Society

In recognition of lifetime gifts and pledges of $250,000 to $499,999.

Also one of the founders of the community of Guyandotte, then part of Virginia, Buffington was among the first trustees of Marshall Academy when the Virginia General Assembly passed a bill on March 13, 1838 incorporating Marshall Academy.

William Buffington Society Members

Advantage Toyota

David B. Akers


Dr. and Mrs. George D. Beldon

Mr. Donald L. Blankenship

James R. Bloss

Dewey L. Bocook, Jr.

George Robert and Sylvia Eddy Brammer

Norma and N. Paul Bromley

Paula and Fred Brothers

James E. and Patricia A. Chapman

Chesapeake Energy Corporation

Johnna and Robert Coats

Czar Coal Corporation

H. Darrel and Laura Boggs Darby

DePuy Orthopedics

Dutch Miller Chevrolet- Hyundai- KIA

Charlie O. Erickson

Joe R. and Lillian Eskridge

James L. and Bobbie W. Farley

Michael J. Farrell

First Sentry Bank

Follett Higher Education Group– Marshall University Bookstore

Robert E. and Susannah Wylie Fox

Nancy Francis

Jeannine Y. Francis Charitable Foundation Trust

Gannett Foundation, Inc. through The Herald Dispatch

Greater Tri-State Development Corp.

David E. and Carolyn S. Haden

Gladys M. and James C. Hamer

L. Page and Helen D. Hay

Ken Hechler

Robert Hinchman, Jr.

Dr. Ernest L. Hogan

Ronald H. and Lisa R. Hooser

T. Les and Sharon R. Huff

Roy C. and Barbara S. Huffman

Fred E. and Doris H. Hulse

Huntington Clinical Foundation

Huntington Municipal Development Authority

Huntington Sports Committee

Huntington, WV Scottish Rite of Freemasonry Foundation, Inc.

Richard Delyn Jackson

Frank P. and Eva M. Justice, Jr.

Del Kimbler

Charles B. and Margaret L. Lewis

Richard G. Miller, Jr.

Manuel E. and Cheryl A. Molina

Charles R. and Victoria M. Neighborgall, III

Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company

A. Michael and Henriella Perry

Richard A. and Jean Plymale

Lake and Dorothy Polan, Jr.

Herschel C. Price Foundation

George E. Price Trust

Dr. Chris A. Ratcliff

Dr. William and Susan Ratcliff

George and Rolfa Rogers

Charles R. and Lorena P. Shank

William Guy and Lisa Spriggs

St. Mary’s Medical Center

Marvin L. and Sydell M. Stone

Superior Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

The Children’s Health Fund

The Pace Family Foundation, Inc.- Margaret, Charles and Connie Pace


Charles R. “Dick” and Linda Tutwiler

Larry and Cheryl Tweel

Barbara J. and Danny A. Vance

Thelma W. Weber

Isabelle D. Zacharias

Ben Zadd Trust


The Marshall University Foundation, Inc. fiscal year begins on July 1 and ends on June 30. Lifetime giving totals are calculated annually upon the completion of the fiscal year.